Don’t cry, little centaur

  

Don’t cry, little centaur. Those pointes aren’t going to work, but….your hair sure is pretty?
Gentle Reader! I haven’t posted in a bit, but I just wanted to let you know everything’s cool here in AdultBeginnerLand, we are all healthy and happy and all that. Not that you were worried. You’ve got your own stuff going on, I like that about you.
I seem to be not feeling urgent about writing right now? Maybe it’ll come back? Can’t force it though. I appreciate that you’ve been here reading.
In other news, WordPress just sent me a little congratulations, apparently it’s been five years here on Adult Beginner, what!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude, the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Don’t cry, little centaur

  1. Rori roars says:

    I WAS wondering about you, but figured there must be something in the water… Lots of things I could/should have blogged about in the past few months, but haven’t felt the drive to actually sit down and do it. I think my blogapathy is beginning to wane, though, so hopefully yours will soon (for my own selfish reasons, of course… your blog is my favorite!). Glad all is well in AB-land! PS – Love the centaur drawing!

  2. Phil says:

    AB You have been a constant inspiration, especially in the dark times, the first two years of beginner land. Not really knowing my left from right or the steps was a problem although in retrospect I had so much fun I couldn’t stop!!
    Hahaha, The best thing ever,
    Phil

  3. Jane Lambert says:

    Congratulations on your fifth anniversary. I look forward to more posts when you are ready to write again.Meanwhile enjoy the California summer. Send my love to LA.

  4. Trippmadam says:

    Glad you are still here (at least for the moment). To be honest, I did worry and I even considered asking the twitter dancers if anyone had heard from you.

  5. Alissa says:

    Glad to hear everything is fine (apart from that poor centaur’s dreams :-))
    I feel a little bit centaurish right now. I danced today after six weeks of doing nothing because of so-much-more-important-stuff. The shoes felt strange. The steps were so not good. I have so much to do.
    End od ramble. Have a wonderful day!

  6. Janet says:

    I am happy that all is OK. I hope that you feel like writing again. Congratulations on reaching five years!

  7. jenerators says:

    I’d love to know how the centaur got that leotard on. Obviously she makes her own to fit…

  8. Basia says:

    I was like totally thinking yesterday about how you haven’t posted for a while, even one of your pretty drawings… How crazy! And now suddenly you post!
    Looking forward to your posts whenever you’re ready to go again :)

  9. Terez Mertes says:

    Is it wrong of me to admit to a little “OMG, it’s not just me!” comfort, both from your admission and Rori Roars (I love your blog, too, Rori!)? Blame it on the moon. The planetary alignment. Whatever. But, oh, WOW – how incredible that you’ve blogged for five years now!! Seriously, that’s an astonishing achievement. You rock! We in the adult ballet community, are sooo lucky, to have access to you and your humor/words/drawing/wisdom/snark. Delayed or not, it’s well worth the wait!

  10. b says:

    Hope things are still going well. I’d love to see what you are doing for Halloween.

  11. Myra says:

    Good read thank you!!

  12. Don says:

    I noticed you were gone.

  13. K says:

    I’m a 25-year-old adult beginner dancer with no previous experience, dancing twice a week for just over a month now. I’ve been reading your blog since I first started dancing, in fact I read the entire archives (it can get pretty slow at my job…) I just wanted to say that yesterday was my first day of moving up from Pre-Ballet to Ballet 1 and it was absolutely miserable! But as I was horribly embarrassing myself for the duration of our center work, I kept in my mind how many challenges, mishaps, and difficult experiences you have had in ballet. I remembered how you were able to overcome them with good humor and a positive attitude and tried my best with my head held high. I just wanted to thank you for being an inspiration for me. I hope that one day I, like you, will be able to dance en pointe. I sincerely hope you will return to blogging, I miss having somewhere to turn to laugh, cry (I mean, get something in my eye….) and fondly think of elderly ballet teachers. I hope you and your family are well.

    Best Wishes,
    K

  14. Jen in Oz says:

    Have you given up on blogging? I miss your posts!

  15. Jo says:

    Hope you’re doing well! Long time lurker here: I know you said that you’re not really feeling the urge to write, but wanted to let you know that you’re missed :) Although I don’t dance (love watching performances though!), I am also an adult beginner who started the cello a few years back, and it’s fascinating to see the common struggles, and feelings people face across different art forms.

  16. theempris says:

    I started ballet as an adult beginner, after 365 days, I made an epic ballet+travel video “The Spin Around the World (Ballet Pirouette)”! Watch it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i3ZPwS2Ww-k

    Also, check out my website, theempris.com for awesome dance, fashion, and travel content!

Leave a Reply

