A Give-Away: for Your Eyes Only…

*{give-away now closed, winner will be announced Monday, big thank yous to everyone who entered!}*

…because it’s a Book, haha!

See, ’cause it’s for your eyes? To, uh, you know, read? Anyway, here it is! 

  

Off Balance by Terez Mertez Rose, who you know from world-famous blog, the classical girl, and from the twitters: @classicalgrrl
Terez asked a while back if I’d be interested in reading her novel, and I was like yes of course times a million, because 1) it’s a ballet novel duh and 2) I gotta say, you guys, I feel really pleased whenever someone from the ballet blog world does a project. Like, I feel all proud and One-Of-Us-ish about it, and like I want to run around the Internet and give everyone a high-five for being part of such a creative and productive and interesting group.
But enough about me and my dorky group-hug feelings, lets talk about YOU, Gentle Reader!
You can win this book!

A signed (!) paperback copy no less. Just imagine it: on your bookshelf…in your gym bag…on your face after you fall asleep trying to stay up all night reading it..

Enter by leaving a comment on this post (one per person please), you have from now until midnight Los Angeles Time on Friday May 15th.

One super-lucky winner will be chosen by random number generator and announced in a post next Monday the 18th, after which Ms. Rose will contact you and mail the book directly to ya.
This give-away is open to the whole world, so, yay for everybody and thank you Terez Mertez Rose!
Here is a link to Amazon if you are too impatient for give-aways. There’s a kindle version as well as the paperback, and here is a Link to the book info on the author’s blog, and here’s a link to an excerpt from the prologue.

And let’s talk about the book: I really enjoyed it. It touches on a lot of interesting parts of the ballet world that don’t usually feature in ballet novels, such as the game of pursuing and securing wealthy patrons,
And the funny balance of power between performers and administration and how that power can change depending upon whether you are standing on one floor of the theater or another,
Plus a lot of interesting things outside ballet: violin people, there’s good stuff in here for you; San Francisco people, you too.
Plus there’s a version of one of my favorite things of all time: The Transformation. My fave is when The Transformation involves a hair cut a lá Roman Holiday or Girl On A Bridge, but in Off Balance there’s just No Time during the transformative moment it’s all go-go-go-get-to-the-party, which is exciting enough that I totally enjoyed it even without my beloved haircut moment.
Ok, the give-away is now open!
Thanks again Terez Rose, author and classical girl, and best of luck to all readers!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books!, reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to A Give-Away: for Your Eyes Only…

  1. lilacfairy64 says:

    Pick me random number generator!

  2. wedoballet says:

    Ooooo… pick me, pick me… the kid is reading circles around me, and it’s embarrassing. I need a new book!

  3. a. says:

    Fingers very crossed indeed :)

  4. jenerators says:

    Yes please!

  5. ryosa echizen says:

    pick me pick me!!!!!! thank you so much for the giveaway =]

  6. beginningballetat40 (Tricia) says:

    I would love to win this :) I always love a new book

  7. Kelsey says:

    Ooooh this could be perfect to start off my summer reading!

  8. kit says:

    Sounds like a great book!

  9. Lydia Love says:

    Ummmm YES PLEASE! I want to read this. Also, who’s excited about Flesh and Bone starting soon?!!!!!

  10. Cerise says:

    Good luck!

  11. Nadine says:

    YES please, this book sounds like a great read!

  12. Oooh haven’t heard of this one before. Reading the preview & it sounds very good… Gut wrenching beginning though D:
    And I’m pretty stoked this is open worldwide!! :)

  13. Katie says:

    Oooh, a lovely new book like that wouldn’t go amiss on my shelf!

  14. d1a2n3e4 says:

    One book I read (ages ago) was “Off Balance; The Real World of Ballet” by Suzanne Gordon.
    This “new” one appears to be more of a real “novel” though; whereas the older one was a bit more of a “report” or even a “manifesto”, if I remember correctly.
    The title is quite apt, of course, and I guess it’s inevitable that there will be several books about ballet with thst name. (I was at first not sure if this NEW “Off Balance” was the same one I had read; but it could be the author was not even born then!)

  15. malonek says:

    Looks great! How I wish to be picked. :)

  16. Rebecca says:

    yes please!

  17. kitteacat says:

    Ballet book?? Winning! And my favorite part is that this is Book 1 . . . that means mroe books! =)

  18. kiwiktn says:

    Yay for your many competitions! Thank you! :)

  19. This book sounds awesome!! Thank you for the giveaway!!

  20. jodyjag2014 says:

    Would love to have an awesome read like this on my shelf!!

  21. Alice C. says:

    This sounds very interesting! I don’t usually read books of this genre, but I’d like to start. ♥

  22. Rori roars says:

    Oh, how exciting! I had no idea Terez was writing a ballet novel! Will definitely be adding it to my to-read list!

  23. Shira says:

    This book sounds great. I love reading ballet books.

  24. Cristal says:

    I would love to win this book!

  25. mc says:

    that seems interesting :)

  26. karma007 says:

    Perfect for my camping trip!

  27. arienlair says:

    I would love to add this to my collection of ballet books!! And it’s signed!!! Fingers and toes crossed :)

  28. Suzanne says:

    Ooh, yes please!

  29. Lauren says:

    This could be my first ballet book!

  30. hyysterika says:

    Crossing my fingers!! <3 This is fabulous.

    -BearikaBallerina

  31. Maddy says:

    Thanks for the giveaway!!

  32. Anastasia Larkson says:

    💙💜💚❤️💗I hope I get picked. I am obsessed with dance and ballet!! The book looks amazing and a signed copy Omgosh would be Perfect🎀 Thanks and please write more ballet fiction-there is never enough! Xo Ana

  33. Suzanne Strom says:

    Enjoy your blog – as an adult, as a ballet beginner, and as a dance-o-phile! Hope I win since this is one of my favorite types of reading! Anyone who enjoys ballet books should read ‘Margot Fonteyn – A Life’ by Meredith Daneman. What a story!

  34. JCB says:

    You have gotten me addicted to ballet novels, Adult Beginner. This will be perfect to read on my subway commute!

  35. A Writer says:

    I love that Terez not only wrote a novel, but that she also self-published! That is awesome! Can’t wait to read the book, whether I win or not :)

  36. Aino says:

    It’s still friday in Los Angeles, right?

  37. Gina says:

    I wish you great success with your book! Even if I don’t win, I look forward to reading it.

  38. Terez Mertes says:

    Thank you, thank you, all you wonderful people, for your enthusiasm and support. It means so much to me! And if you’d love to read this novel but are having a tough time rustling up the funds, gosh, contact me at The Classical Girl. Sharing the story I crafted is NOT about making money (okay, well, maybe that’s a little perk to all this work I’m doing, but you know what I mean, right?). And if you’re someone who likes to write reviews, be it on Amazon or on a blog, and you’d love to give it a try with OFF BALANCE, again, please do contact me at The Classical Girl. I’d love to share a reviewer’s copy with you! And thank you again, all of you, and Adult Beginner. You and your readers ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

