Misty and Harry, Wizards.

Dude, Gentle Reader, have you read Misty Copeland’s book? A Life In Motion: an unlikely ballerina?
I was in a hold-list about five people deep for the book at my library, and when it was finally my turn I tore through it, because it’s totally young-adult fantasy-fiction come to life.
Like this:
You’re thirteen years old, everything seems messed up, and suddenly you find this one magical thing that you didn’t even know was real but that you are really really good at. And not just really really good, but like, a natural. A prodigy. Made for it.
This book is basically all, “yeah, life is fucked up right now but it’s ok because guess what YOU’RE A WIZARD, HARRY.”
I mean, I don’t know about you but that kind of finding-a-hidden-super-talent story was majorly appealing to me as a kid, I pretty much read that story line over and over.
Not by JK Rowling though, I am totes old for that mess. I read all a thems ofcourse, but only while procrastinating college papers and stuff.
Did I ever find my hidden super-talent? No, not exactly, because that’s not how it goes for most people in real life. Most people find that thing they enjoy and are pretty ok at, which, with a lot of training, can lead to an impressive skill set.
Which makes it really cool to read about someone real who really found that magic hidden super-talent, in real life.
So, I recommend it. Don’t be too cool to get on that hold list at your local library.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Misty and Harry, Wizards.

  1. Basia says:

    Thanks for your review – I had been dithering on whether to buy and read…. Didn’t want a self pity story full of anger. Sounds pretty cool though, so off in go to get it!

  2. Kate says:

    LOVED this book. Got it as a gift for christmas, and was almost finished by boxing day!

  3. dancer says:

    I’ll have to pick it up! For some reason I wasn’t feeling to excited about it.

    • She is everywhere right now, so I can understand feeling a feeling of ‘why read this, I already know the story’, but there is so much more to her story than I knew before reading. Also, it’s neat to see that being everywhere right now is not an accident, she is actively working to get her image and story into the world, in non-ballet venues too, to serve as inspiration for kids who might feel like ballet is a world that is closed to them. It’s neat.

  4. This sounds wonderful! I am new to ballet but have already discovered the lovely Misty Copeland while searching for inspiration that anyone can really do this!!

Leave a Reply

