Clocks is always good for a title-sequence, in my mind

Two things about Dancing Through It by Jenifer Ringer:
Thing 1) it starts in the wrong place
Thing 2) it ends in the wrong place
Ok, regarding Thing 1)
The book starts at the beginning.
It shouldn’t though, it should start at the moment the internet exploded with Ringer’s name.
Instead of Jenny Ringer age 7, it should open in the morningtime kitchen of Jenifer Ringer: professional, on her game, top of her game even, easing into the day while her daughter and husband run back and forth laughing through the apartment. It should open with Ringer holding her phone, scanning reviews, scrolling down to find the words,

…one sugarplum too many…

And then cut to Title Sequence, driving piano-beat of Coldplay’s Clocks jumping you out of your chair then dropping you into flashback where we meet Jenny Ringer, age 7, and fill in the story that leads back to that moment and those words.
I mean, that’s how the movie version would go.
Or maybe instead of the review, the movie would start on the set of The Today Show with Jenifer being asked, live on television, if she feels that she is owed an apology from Alastair MaCaulay.
Boom! Title Sequence! Clocks piano!
I have no idea if there’s a movie in the works, or if they will get the rights to Clocks.
What I do know is that this was a hard book for me to get into, and that surprised and frustrated me. I mean, it’s the autobiography of a NYCB dancer. I love that stuff. Oooooh, let me count the ways: Once A Dancer…, A Winter Season, Dancing On My Grave, this is a super-compelling genre within the already interesting genre of Real People In Ballet.
I think part of my difficulty getting into the book was I’d never heard of Jenifer Ringer before all the outcry over that review,
(I’d never heard of Alastair MaCaulay either for that matter. I don’t read professional critiques of dance performances. Pro reviews are boring.)
So it jarred me when I began reading, expecting to approach the story from the perspective of discovering the woman behind the public outcry, but instead the book is written almost as if that quote and the erruption of fame/infamy that followed was just another chapter, (the 9th Chapter to be specific. 191 pages deep) not the impetus for the book. No, I don’t think One Sugarplum Too Many is the most important thing that has happened to Ringer, defintely not. but I do think it’s what set the book in motion.
Which brings me around to Thing 2).
I really really wish the book ended with Ringer and MaCaulay meeting up for a drink.
But it can’t end that way, because that never happened. Which is a shame because within that perfect storm of his flame-baity turn-of-phrase and her history of struggle and recovery, they brought ballet into national news.
Not just ballet either: disordered eating, mental health, gender issues, the responsibility of critic to artist, company to employee, so many things.
I mean, she was on Oprah FFS! What percentage of Oprah’s viewing audience had heard about the New York City Ballet before that day? Hopefully most but surely not all of them, right?
What percentage of Oprah’s viewers started on a path to getting help that day? For an eating disorder or an obsessive behavior or any particular thing?
Some? Probably?
They reached the world that day, togther, in a way.
In case you missed the Today’s Show episode, by the way, her answer was no. No apology owed. Because that lady is top shelf. Which is why I love the idea of the two of them getting together and just saying wow, that was terrible for both of us, cheers friend, let’s never ever do that again.

Book is Dancing Through It, my journey in the ballet, by Jenifer Ringer-Fayette, copyright 2014, published by Viking Penguin Group 

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Clocks is always good for a title-sequence, in my mind

  1. Kiralia says:

    I have absolutely no idea what you are talking about this time. I guess it’s more obvious to some one with the same news feed. :) Or some one who actually follows news, at all xD

  2. d1a2n3e4 says:

    I agree; I completely go through the “re-doing” in my imagination of things I read, see or hear.
    It does get frustrating to feel that it COULD have been so wonderful, if only, if only….

  3. daktulos says:

    You are so right. I read her book and enjoyed it but it would have had more oomph if it had opened with the review just like you said. I want to hear the backstory too and I love hearing about awkward (or not childhoods) about Real People In Ballet.

    That moment though, when she matter of factly said she didn’t need an apology because she knows she is fine, both in her mental and in her professional life as a principal dancer for the NYCB? So awesome. My family has this weird joke about being like a duck with oily feathers that water slides right off. Her feathers were too oily for any of that.

    • Yes!!! Way too oily for any of that.
      I found and watched her Today Show interview specifically to see that moment, because she mentions in the book that she hadn’t anticipated that question, so I wanted to see if there was a pause and was super impressed to see No Pause, immediate kind, generous, realistic answer. The poise! So poised!

  4. Joyce says:

    Alastair MaCaulay is kind of the worst. Not even because of the aforementioned controversy, but because his reviews are always pretentious and overwrought. I do wind up reading him regularly though, to keep up with what’s on around town.

  5. Jessica says:

    Ooh, I haven’t read the book, but it sounds like you are right on the money. Draw the reader in. Acknowledge the reason anyone besides a hardcore ballet fan cares about this book. I also *love* your suggestion of Clocks in part because my ballet teacher is a huge, huge Coldplay fan. We do a pre-plies warmup to a Coldplay song (selection varies) every class.

  6. Michelle says:

    I haven’t read tis book, but I do recall his horrible review. I couldn’t believe that he was basically calling her fat. I just thought to myself, “you sir, are an asshole”.

Leave a Reply

