Later dude. Ballet.

IMG_0444

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Later dude. Ballet.

  1. Holly says:

    I legitimately devoured your blog over the past two days. I know, kinda weird, kinda stalker-y, very nerdy. Sorry! Your adventure in dance is inspiring, and I love how your writing balances a really strong romanticism that I associate with Ballet and People Who Are Into Ballet, with a down-to-earth, sometimes-silly sense of humor.

    At various points in my life, I’ve been deterred from ballet because of the horror stories. ‘You’ll never be good at ballet if you didn’t start as a child,’ they said, so I took up bellydance instead as a teen. ‘Ballet is for thin girls,’ they said, so I took up running instead in college, and told myself “someday.” ‘Okay, even if you CAN dance as an adult, you’ll never do pointe, and even if you do, it would destroy your feet. Seriously, think of the bleeding.’ So I read your story, and now I say, summer Absolute Beginner ballet classes, here I come — inexperience, fat rolls, and all. (Your story, of course, does not relate to my fat-roll-based insecurities, so please don’t read this whole thing and think, wow, this rando just called me fat!)

    So in my kinda long, roundabout way, what I’m trying to say is: thanks for the inspriation. :)

    • Wow, I am so delighted to be described like this! Romanticism and down to earth silliness, hooray.
      I’m glad you’re going for it, and that you’ve found an absolute beginner class, those can be hard to find, as I know you know.
      Best best wishes!
      (Oh, and no worries, pretty sure everyone has fat roll based insecurities.)
      Best wishes some more!

  2. Stephanie says:

    I’ve been following your blog for a while now. I always need inspiration and I love your “voice”! I recently started my very own teacher blog, and thought I would share a post with you! -Stephanie http://applelightmoments.blogspot.com/2015/02/teacher-ballerina.html

  3. Bethany says:

    This needs to be a card.

Leave a Reply

