Favorite Search Engine Phrase of the day:

“Can some people not do pirouettes”
I understand that this is a legitimate question, and have sometimes wondered it myself, but am having a really hilarious time reading this question with a Tone, directed at Some Specific Person who needs to stop it already with the pirouettes,
as in “Can You Not? Can You Just Not?!”

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark!, Technique and Class, You Asked for it and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Favorite Search Engine Phrase of the day:

  1. wedoballet says:

    HA! I’m compelled to search “Can some men NOT modify the end of the grand allegro to include an impressive men-only jump?” with that Tone.

  2. kit says:

    Or maybe it’s “SHOULD some people not do pirouettes” LOL
    Probably me…

  3. asher says:

    This seriously made me LOL :D It’s going to be hard not to snicker at this very thought the next time the inevitable Girl Who Is Really Awesome At Turns peels out a triple or what have you in class…

  4. jenerators says:

    I discovered last night at class that I could do an average to good single pirouette on a totally flat foot. I wonder when I’m going to be told to just give up.

      • Old Faun says:

        Yes, Never give up!!!!

        As a tip, pirouettes are best practiced in the kitchen – at least, I do that, and another man I read on a ballet blog thinks that this is the best place, too.l
        Balance is practiced while phoning or waiting for the coffee machine at the office – sometimes there is then some crashing on the line, but friends will get used to that. At this state they attest a mild case of insanity anyhow…

  5. Carla Escoda says:

    Notice how show-offs only do pirouettes to one side – their good side? If they were really trying to work on technique, they’d do the bad side over and over again… but NO-O-O-O :)

  6. Aurélie says:

    Haha I sometimes wonder too ^^ One year since I’ve started ballet and I still can’t do a single one -.-‘ at the point that my (oh-so-lovely-and-patient) teacher now considers it as her challenge too, she is searching for some stuff to help me doing pirouettes in barre/milieu exercises; she says she will never give up, which is nice because else I will ;)
    By the way please never stop blogging :). Like never. I’m not kidding. Never.

  7. Rein & Raven says:

    Lol, that’s how I feel when I see people do super awesome, elegant pirouettes en dehors. People look at me like I’m crazy when I say en dedans is great but en dehors is impossible for me, but it’s true. Apparently most people have the opposite problem?

Leave a Reply

