Ballet Blogs on the Flat: slippers not pointes

The blogroll for this week, which I’m copying here for permanence, is all ballet blogs by ladies who are not en pointe.
Maybe they’ll do pointe someday, or maybe not, but right now I am highlighting Our Ladies In Slippers Not Pointes, because, you know, that’s where all of us adult beginners start.

Back To First Position here
Ballet and/or Bust here
Bearika Ballerina here
Beginning Ballet here
Good Toes Bad Toes here
Immitation Ballerina here
Kash of All Trades here
KitTeaCat Does Ballet here
The Kool Chicken here
Meet Me At The Barre here
Miss Rainstorm here
Poets and Pirouettes here (oops, she’s en pointe. That’s cool, have a look anyway)
Point(e)s, Hops, and Kicks here
Primahackerina here
This Life And Times here
Terpsichore here
Wellies&Pearls&Ballet Shoes here

Please correct me if you are on this list but actually do pointe, I’ll switch you over to this list instead. I figure determining if someone is en pointe is a lot like that old joke about how to tell if someone’s vegan, but I could be totes wrong about that.

Also please let me know if you don’t see your blog and you want on the list, it would be my pleasure to include you and increase the interconnectedness of our interconnected community here, with interconnections. Just sometimes I’m forgetful or ignorant or asleep. So tell me!

Menfolk: you are not on this list because you will be getting your own totally hot blogroll soon, probably next week, but for now it’s ladies first.

Go team!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Ballet Blogs on the Flat: slippers not pointes

  1. Barbara says:

    Thank you for this blog roll. I work full time and take 5 classes a week and love to read blogs when I can.

  2. wedoballet says:

    You, AB, are like the mayor of Adultballetblogville. Fabulous!

  3. kit says:

    Thanks for the mention :) ! And much thanks for helping us all increase our interconnectedness!

  4. ballettrist says:

    Thanks for the list and the shout-out, AB. Really must update that blog, though — because I’ve been on pointe since May and have only talked about it once. Boo! Up and off butt!

    • You’ve—what?!!! You’ve been en pointe for over six months and only talked about it once????!! HOW?! Omg I was like blabfest24/7 when I was en pointe, gah, maybe I have a problem.
      Thanks for letting me know, adding you to the pointy list.

  5. Joyce says:

    I love these blogrolls, the pointe one made for very good holiday reading. :)
    I started a new blog for the new year. So far it’s very dance journaly, but it might be interesting to some here?
    Meet Me at the Barre – meetatbarre.blogspot.com
    (Hopefully posting this here will keep me updating. Accountability!)

  6. Thanks so much for the shout-out AB! Love your blog as always. Still hoping to get my pointe shoes one day. :)

    ~ R from Back to First Position

  7. tiny hippo says:

    Yay! These are my people. The pointe ladies made me badly about myself – I’ve been taking class for years and I have no business being anywhere near a pointe shoe. I’d rather keep plodding along in slippers than inevitably injuring my weak joints with pointe.

  8. Michelle says:

    Thanks for posting this list. I’m a brand new adult beginner and I’m having a blast with it! I’ve been enjoying your blog and look forward to checking out the others you’ve listed.

  9. kitteacat says:

    Thanks for the shout out! =)

  10. koolchicken says:

    Awww, thanks for the mention! I am still in flat shoes but I’m told that’ll be changing this year. I’ll let you know when and if that happens!

  11. amandakash says:

    Is it weird that I’m totally fangirling since I was mentioned? Maybe… Anyway, I can’t wait to check out these other ladies. I devoured the previous list of pointers. And your comment on “pointe not being the goal of ballet” is so true! I didn’t think of it that way until talking with one of my teachers (tap, but she used to teach adult ballet, I’m trying to persuade her to DO IT AGAIN!) who had a similar sentiment.

  12. Try Harder says:

    Oh, that’s excellent. The pointed ladies sure impress me, but at the same time, I’d love to see what the slippered ones are doing, to make me feel not so alone in the flatlands.

    • We’re all there in the flatlands with you. Even the ones who do pointe, I’m pretty sure they all take a regular ballet class too!
      Come to think of it, even during my brief experience en pointe I was surprised at how much time we spent on flat in the pointes. And how weird they feel on flat.

  13. Would you mind adding me? I’m not sure which list you would want me on, since I dance on and off pointe, but I’ll be posting more frequently. I also post about teaching dance too, but I’ll be writing about classes more too. Thanks either way! I love your blog. :)

    http://bearika-ballerina.blogspot.com/

  14. Wellies&Pearls says:

    I don’t know why it took so long for me to notice that I made it on to “the list.” Thanks for including me :)!

Leave a Reply

