Advent Calendar round-up: my faves

The advent calendar project was really interesting for me, I haven’t given myself an every-day assignment like that before and I found it informative to kinda learn what my drawing stamina was like and what I’d end up looking to for inspiration.
I had thought I would draw ahead of schedule, so that I’d be all finished up like a week early and just let the pictures post themselves as we approached Christmas, but no, I was totally drawing that Christmas one on Christmas eve. Which is not a hardship, you guys, I mean of all the tasks on my list “draw a picture” is a happy one.
Actually the Christmas Day drawing, I had started and fussed over and redrawn it like sixty times earlier that week, and finally given up and ended up drawing the yellow HAPPY picture instead, which is completely different in style and just came out of no where, I mean as you can see that’s not my typical drawing style.
I also thought the drawings would somehow get more Christmas-y toward the end, and then they totally didn’t lolz.
These are my faves out of the 25, but they were not necessarily your favorites, which I think is interesting and neat:

Where did this even come from.

Where did this even come from.


Whatever she's reading I hope she retweets it

Whatever she’s reading I hope she retweets it


Dat ass.

Dat ass.


This one drew up really quick and totally delights me.

This one drew up really quick and totally delights me.


Her back is an arrow.

Her back is an arrow.


I like how confident she looks.

I like how confident she looks.

The yellow HAPPY is my favorite. Maybe because that one involved actually *using* the iPad and the art rage app, instead of just treating them like paper like I usually do. And man I love that hair. And it was so quick. They get sort of heavy and overwrought when I spend too much time on them, and it gets to the point where I have to decide if I should power through or just stop the madness. The corset drawing was like that and I powered through, also the December 25th one was like that and I’m still not really happy with it, but it was time to move on.
You guys, I was so delighted every time anyone liked a drawing, thank you again for that, and I’m totally pleased that some of you requested specific drawings be available on stuff, it’s neat to know these drawings are out there in the physical world as cards or tote bags or whatever.
Thanks friends.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Advent Calendar round-up: my faves

  1. Beth says:

    AB-i loved your calendar. Thank you for creating and sharing it. Your talent astounds me.

    • Thanks Beth, I’m glad you liked it!
      I had a moment around day seven where I got all worried that I was being obnoxious by posting every day, like it would be annoying especially for the people who subscribe via email, like, their inboxes would be all blowing up, and I asked my husband and he was like, “would that annoy you, if a blog you read posted every day?” And I was like, “Oh. No it wouldn’t at all.” So I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  2. These are fabulous. I wish I had seen them earlier, like, before Christmas, LOL! But seriously, even the ones you drew up quickly look great! Love them all!

  3. amandakash says:

    I loved this as well. The captions make them that much better. Mahvelous.

Leave a Reply

