Another reason corrections are good:

Recently finished up a ballet class series taught by Zooey Deschanel.
I’m kidding.
Wasn’t really her.
Same doe-eyed dead-pan Deschanel delivery though.
Super dead-pan.
Dead-pan like I wondered if she was a little bit bored of us. I think our class was below the level she usually teaches.
I was a little bit bored too, actually, which made me worry that I was being boring and was totally boring Not-Zooey because bored people are super-boring, and then I was down a worry-spiral about the Nature Of Boredom which is not a great mind-place for learning.
Anyway, at the end of the last class I said bye and put on my coat and walked out and realized that I didn’t know the names of any of my classmates. After two months.
Because Not-Zooey didn’t give corrections. There was no “Hips level, Fondant. Drop those shoulders, Brûlée. Hollandaise, I see you forgetting to spot.”
Oh man, what if they all really did have food names and I Missed Out On Knowing?????? OH MAN I AM SO SAD NOW!!!!
I guess in the future I could just say hi and introduce myself to my classmates and find out their names for myself but gross, who wants to do that.
Teachers! Please give corrections! We need them more than you know!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Another reason corrections are good:

  1. amandakash says:

    Dang, zooey. Help a sister out.

  2. Barbara says:

    SERIOUSLY!!! I was lucky to have two ballet teachers 15 years or more ago that actually gave corrections by NAME CALLING and both of them lost students because of it. MOST ADULT students I guess want to go through the motions of ballet and be treated like a 3 year old and only hear “GOOD” after every combination. The teacher cannot call out “GOOD” by name because most of us suck!!!!

    • Oh wow, it never occurred to me that teachers are afraid to lose students. Just figured correcting was a matter of personality. I wonder if that’s why my spin class teacher never corrects. That’s a shame.
      I was just reading this interesting article somewhere about the importance of being able to separate critique of your work from critique of your self. I feel like most adults in ballet classes have experience outside ballet that prepares us to accept criticism as a tool for improvement, not a personal attack. Maybe this is the one true advantage we have over little kids. We’ve been given enough constructive criticism via grad school, art school, academia, on the job, whatever, that we mostly know how to incorporate it without being personally hurt.
      If it’s got to be Good Or Nothing though, I’d totally prefer a “Good balance, lovely feet Mirepoix” to nothing. I mean, at least then I’d know what her dang name was and could think about whether my own feet are going the right way.
      When we get nothing, well, we get nothing.

  3. I think you just gave yourself away. Your name is totally Croquembouche, isn’t it?

  4. Margaret says:

    Totally agree! I want to learn AND improve when I come to class. So instead of just teaching me new routine, pointing out what I’ve done wrong and make me to correct it is equally important. I think mastering the basics correctly is critical, they are the foundations for more advance steps/routines. I once went to a class which the teacher just rushed and tried to cover as much routine as possible, but in the end of the sessions, I found that I didn’t progress at all. I personally don’t mind given corrections by name calling :)

  5. Rebecca says:

    Our free-and-easy class and elderly teacher means even SHE doesn’t know everyone’s name.
    She gives corrections (oh, doesn’t she just), but… namelessly, generally. But we regulars KNOW. Petit-pain needs to relax her shoulders, Amandine to keep her barre hip still, I to hold on to my turonout. But it’s good to try and absorb them all rather than thinking ‘She doesn’t mean ME’…

  6. Jessica says:

    I was brought up that every correction is a correction for you (me)—that is, just because it’s Meringue getting told to keep her arabesque behind her doesn’t mean that I don’t need to work on that. But, oh, for personal corrections! At first class back yesterday, the teacher joked that to get a good remark/compliment, the kids should pay him a quarter. Immediately one of the h.s. seniors asked how much for constructive criticism. Answer: 50 cents. The other adult and I immediately joked that we’d make a huge deposit, since the teacher does not give personal corrections to the adults, just to the kids.

  7. Omygod, I love you guys using food names.

Leave a Reply

