From fear to acceptance in like two seconds. #Maturity #Whiplash

I was sitting on the floor in the hall of a new dance studio the other day, with, like, my world all spread out around me —shoes, warm-ups, bag, phone, other bag— wondering why I always show up for ballet class so stupid early, like before the teacher is even there early, why don’t I learn,
And I hear a voice and look up it’s this little girl, like maybe seven, all happy smiles and pink leotard, hand-in-hand with her mama, and this tiny kid is walking right toward the room where I’m about to take class,
And I totally ice-over and think “FUUUUUUUUUUH!!!!!!!!”
And think, “Oh help me it’s about to be one of those classes oh no not children this is the worst just kill me now,”
And then think, “Nah, you know what, it’s fine, totally fine, actually it’ll be really really interesting to see how a teacher works with adults and kids all together in the same class, this’ll probably be awesome,”
And then think, “wait, what? WHO EVEN ARE YOU ANYMORE, ADULT BEGINNER?!”
But then at the very last second she zigged left instead of zagging right and totally went off to a different class, so all that for nothing.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From fear to acceptance in like two seconds. #Maturity #Whiplash

  1. abc says:

    ok, so far, so good. but how was the actual class in the end?

  2. amandakash says:

    This actually is kind of what I’m struggling with at the moment. Well, not so much “at the moment,” so much as, “in June my ballet teacher is leaving and my classmates and I are already panicking.” I’ve been contemplating if I will have the balls to join a kids class because I do NOT want to go to a nimbly bimbly wibbly wobbly “adult open” class. Just those type A problems.

Leave a Reply

