The ancient and terrible Ones.

I think maybe the ancient and terrible gods of ballet read my last post about my hard timez in pointe class, and decided to throw me a frikin bone, because last week class was better.
Not worlds of better, but definitely less bad.
I like to think of the gods of ballet as being along the model of the Greek gods: unpredictable, distant, wrapped up in their own dramas, sometimes cruel, really you don’t want them to notice you if you can help it.
I think if they did send a little ease-on-pointe my way it was more out of contrariness than a desire to help, as in,
“Oh, you expect to feel miserable? Here! Have some joy, see how you like them golden apples.”
Um, thank you, o terrible ones?
So, yeah, pointe class was better this week.
One possible non-mystical reason for the better-ness was that I switched my shoes. Put the left pointe on the right, and the right on the left. I had noticed that most of the wear is still on the outer part of the platform, not under the big toe, even though I think I’m standing more and more correctly these days, but maybe the shoes themselves are a little warped in the wrong direction from my early pointey days, so I tried that, and it felt great and I got some compliments on being correctly on my big toe and someone even noticed the wear being in the correct place and I totally just accepted those compliments and didn’t explain about switching feet.
Pique’s still feel like pole-vaulting. They are really a mind game right now, I have to screw up all my courage and go, before I get scared and cheat and bend my knee to sneak up on that one-legged pointe.
Someday, piques!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The ancient and terrible Ones.

  1. Anne-Marie Hamilton says:

    Hey there, Adult Beginner!

    I’ve been enjoying your blog for about a year now-you always have something funny and insightful to say about the wonderful world of AB ballet! I was wondering, what are you using to pad your toes with en pointe? Thanks :)

    Anne-Marie

    • I use gel toe spacers between the big toe and the one beside it, and ouch-pouches. You can buy all this stuff from dance stores but you can also get them much less expensively from the foot care section of pretty much any drugstore, so shop around, my pointe-y friend!
      I also carry a little roll of that papery surgical tape stuff in case of blisters.
      I’m so glad you enjoy the blog. I have a pretty good time here, pleased that you do too.

Leave a Reply

