Gee, I have no idea why.

I’m facing the barre, up en pointe in fifth position, ready to follow the girl beside me in glissades down the barre, but I can’t go because Lé Assistant is reaching up-
-And she has to reach up because she is tiny anyway and I am over six feet tall on pointes-
-still need to tilt my head up to kiss my husband though, damn I love height-
She’s reaching up and slapping me all upside my shoulders and back, like whack! whack! whackwhackwhack! while saying, “Those shoulders! Drop them! Relax! Gosh why are you so tense tonight?!”

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff, Technique and Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gee, I have no idea why.

  1. (To be fair I love hands-on corrections. Even when they’re slaps.)

  2. Paulina says:

    My teacher loves hands-on corrections. Even if I do not like to be touched by strangers usually, his hands-on method amuses me. He has this nice way of asking permission without words, just with his eyes.

Leave a Reply

