I like canvas for summer

The Capezio Pro Canvas split sole.
20140710-220806-79686838.jpg
Pretty. Insole bunches up under toes though. Just have to remember to take them off and smooth the insole out before barre starts or else I’m all princess-and-the-pea, my-pirouettes-don’t-work-because-my-shoes time.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I like canvas for summer

  1. d1a2n3e4 says:

    Oh, I know what you mean about the insole-liniing bunching up! Very annoying. What sometimes works quite well is to tape it down flat, using a tape which is normally used for bandages (Leukoplast – the brown kind). That is fairly water-proof and tends to last for a long time. :)

  2. Martha says:

    I have these same shoes, and the bunchy insole is apparently part of the design. I just flipped them inside out and stitched the front of the insole down along the toes — problem solved!

  3. wedoballet says:

    I like canvas all the time :)
    It’s the reason why 8-year-old BoyMowgli rocks a pair of canvas Sansha split soles when the uniform clearly calls for leather (and what lunatic puts a kid in a split sole for their first shoe?). He’s a trend-setter though. There are like five little boys who all wear white canvas now! Bunchiness, and visible dirtiness abounds!

  4. ballettrist says:

    This is why I switched from Capezio to the Grishko Ultimate canvas split soles — the insole is sewed down, plus the suede patch at the forefoot is huge. I call them my pirouette shoes!

  5. kitteacat says:

    My first shoes are leather . . . have been thinking about making the jump to canvas!

  6. Seeta says:

    Grishko Performance Series is also a nice split-sole canvas that is pretty well sewn underneath; not very bunchy. And flattering to the feet.

  7. amandakash says:

    I like the feeling of my feet in my leather Capezio Juliet IIs, but I turn much better in my canvas Bloch split soles. But my Bloch shoes are so baggy. I may need a pair of them Grishkos…

  8. Zebra says:

    Canvas (split-sole) shoes all the time here: mostly cos of the herbivore thing, tbh. I generally wear Sanshas because I’ve such narrow feet, but am also fond of Chacotts because the canvas is super-soft&supple – and the elastics come ready sewn, which is a definite bonus, frankly!

    Thanks to my super-narrow feet & where my feet arch & that the Ehlers-Danlos flattens said arches when weight-bearing (funtimes) I always have to yank the elastics incredibly tight; & losing elastic into shoe renders it unwearable. Which is an absolute arse when it’s a brand new shoe…

  9. During the intensive my normal pair of Angelo Luzio canvas split soles were not cutting it, so a group of us made a trip to the local dance store in Portland. I picked up a dreamy pair of So Danca stretch canvas split soles that I love very much. So cushy to wear and perfect for turns. Love love love. I started wither leather shoes when I got back to dancing but really hated it and love canvas. Go big or go home bruh.

Leave a Reply

