Just another awkward conversation in ballet class

Smirnoff brought in a couple books for me to borrow, because he knows what a big book-nerd I am, and along with the books he also lent me this yellowed, folded newspaper article, which he handed to me saying,
“This, my dear, I keep for my students who are mothers, because you see it is written by a dancer, and it discusses the Kegel exercises. Do you know of these Kegel exercises? Very important, these Kegel exercises.”
(Oh my god noooooooo I’m dying let’s just not talk about kegels ok please way too immature to have this conversation dying of embarrassment lalalalalalalalalaalalaalaaaaaaaaaaa)

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in ce n'est pas une mom blog and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Just another awkward conversation in ballet class

  1. wedoballet says:

    HAAAAAA! I love everything about this!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    No! He didn’t! Hahahahaha

  3. Krisu says:

    keeping a straight face–important–*snort*

  4. Oh my god AHAHAHA
    Now I love Smirnoff even more

  5. Barbara says:

    I am reading Astonish Me and enjoying it and doubt I would have heard about it if not for you so thank you for being a book-nerd and passing along good reads.

  6. Teri says:

    The Smirnoff ~ oh he is just too much.
    Did the room spin when you heard “Kegel” come out of his mouth?

  7. Paulina says:

    These elderly dance teachers – always trying to take very good care of their students. Sweet, but sometimes embarassing. I remember one who always tried to set me up for a blind date (with anyone…)

  8. anonymouse says:

    is it better or easier when mom brings it up? because my mom wanted to make sure i understood how important it was during “intimacy’…..”yesyesfinefineokNewSubjectPLEASE”

  9. guyenne says:

    At least he said Kegels and not vaginal wall strengthening. And no personal info/questions about things like incontinence.

  10. robin says:

    OMGGGGG that’s a riot!

  11. RO says:

    Hahahaha!!! :-D

  12. Rebecca says:

    Here in the UK they’re known as PELVIC FLOOR EXERCISES, which I think is worse, or at least gives a worse mental image of what will happen if you don’t do them, like an attic full of furniture plummeting through the house to the basement…

  13. Zebra says:

    Golly. That’s a whole other heap of awkward there. *pats AB gently* At least he cares?

  14. Rori roars says:

    As long as he doesn’t start adding Kegels to the barre routine, I think you’re all set. And OMG, as if the original post wasn’t hilarious enough, the comments here have me crying between the moms and the attics!

  15. I just spit out water all over my keyboard. Thank you for that. ;)

Leave a Reply

