Pattern-making Know-it-all versus Silly Stretch Lace Dress.

Saw this silly little dress the other day,
Sheer stretch lace, tank style bodice, handkerchief-hem skirt.
“ooh, fun for ballet class over a leotard and tights!”
Right?
Pulled it off the rack, held the hanger up to my shoulders, turned to the mirror and immediately saw that the front and back of the skirt were incredibly short, like really this thing was a top not a dress at all and if worn to ballet class it would create a totally inappropriate peek-a-boo effect framing the bottom of the leo.
I mean, defo not the look the Adult Beginner is going for but if that’s your jam…
Anyway, here’s this extremely simplified not-to-scale pattern-ish schematic thing that I made, because I’m a pattern dork, of how the dress was made:

20140624-144923-53363742.jpg
And some options for how it Coulda Been Made Better:

20140624-145014-53414719.jpg
So there, strange sheer lace dress/top thingie!
In your handkerchief hemmed face!
Furthermore, this would totes work as a skirt a lá SAB style as per this tutorial that I made for Ballet Scoop right here, if anybody was into that sort of thing, just saying.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in DIY, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pattern-making Know-it-all versus Silly Stretch Lace Dress.

  1. Paulina says:

    Often, when I look at clothes, I wonder if the people who designed them ever tried to imagine how these clothes might look on a human being with hips and thighs (anybody who is bigger than a clothes hanger).

  2. RO says:

    Haha I love this!! I work with clothing myself and I often see things about outfits in the stores that I would have done differently. Sometimes I just grab the idea and make it myself, but then I do it MY way!!
    Cool dress btw!

  3. amandakash says:

    I will be using the SAB tutorial for sure. Thanks for making it easy for us non master seamstresses type understand. Looks like I have a CRAFT for my day off tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

