the Rhonda Jamb Review of Beginning Ballet at Studio A

Review By: Rhonda Jamb
Class Is Called: Beginning Ballet
Where: Studio A, Silverlake (see website for street address)
Website: studioadance.com
How It Is: This is a great beginner ballet class. Studio A is AWESOME: easy parking, two large studios, non-intimidating vibe. The instructor gauges the class level depending on who shows up, but even if you’re a True Beginner* you’ll be okay and comfortable. Sarah seems to love teaching and is supportive of newbies. She pays close attention to everyone and nitpicks diplomatically. This is a great class for the TB as well as the IB. Bonus: she uses the Downton Abbey theme song during barre work.
Attire-wise: You probably don’t need to show up in a ripstop jumpsuit (even though you know you want to). Chiffon wrap skirts and the occasional thigh-high legwarmer have been spotted, but most of the students keep it simple— leo’s and tights are the most common. Socks, leggings, tanks, etc. will not be frowned upon.

*go here to see the key

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to the Rhonda Jamb Review of Beginning Ballet at Studio A

  1. This is so great!

    Are we allowed to make suggestions for review? I take adult beginner classes in Pasadena with Catherine Round (check out CRoundBalletWorks.com). I’d love to know what you think!

    • Yes! Please make suggestions. For example, I didn’t know about CRound and now it’s on the radar. Thanx Hot Pink.

    • Intransitive Verg says:

      I was just going to suggest these same classes! She also teaches an Intro to Ballet class over at Pasadena City College that was the first adult beginner ballet class I ever took that didn’t send me screaming back into the comforting arms of Middle Eastern Dance.

      • Intransitive Verb says:

        Um. Also, my user name is supposed to be “Intransitive Verb.” Whoops!

        • Here I was imagining all these things about being on the verge of the intransitive…

          • Intransitive Verb says:

            That does sound pretty cool. Once I realized I made this mistake a couple of times, I was hoping people would mistake it for some kind of esoteric Star Trek reference.

            By the way, I love your site. Even though I haven’t been able to get to ballet class for the last year or so, reading your blog has kept all my love for THE DANCE alive. Plus your illustrations are heart-stoppingly adorable and your writing makes me smile.

          • Thanks so much! Keep that love alive.

  2. OMG I use Downton Abbey theme music when I give class too! The track I have if you’re looking for it is David Plumpton’s Modern Melodies 2. it’s very versatile – I’ll use it for waltzes, facing the barre warmup, stretch, adagio, or chaines.

Leave a Reply

