Happy Valentine’s Day!!! JK, it’s totally June.

We do these back bends sometimes,
Where we face the barre and hold it with both hands, elbows bent at our sides, and then go back back back until our arms are pulled straight and we can maybe catch a glimpse in the mirror behind us, then come up slowly slowly slowly back to standing as if we are being pulled forward from the sternum.
And while I was coming back up, trying to make my sternum go first, I started thinking about how if this were yoga, the teacher wouldn’t be all Lead With Your Sternum, teacher would be more like, “follow your heart center…” or “…let your heart lead you…” or “…allow your heart to blossom forward and float you up” or some yoga thing.
And I kinda snickered about that in my head for a minute.
But then I was like, why not?
I mean, if the barre is our partner, why don’t I imagine the barre really is my partner? And rise like I’m being pulled by that magnetic pull deep in my chest? Instead of by my frowny frown face?

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day!!! JK, it’s totally June.

  1. Lais says:

    Oddly enough, today’s actually the equivalent of Valentine’s Day here in Brazil :)

  2. Anonymous Dancer says:

    Hi AB,
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and I just wanted to say how much I love it! You’re helpful and so funny :) I’m not an adult beginner (I’m fifteen), but I still love reading your posts obsessively, because I’m a ballet nerd too. (Seriously, when I’m not in class, I’m doing petit allegro in my bedroom or reading about ballet) I even showed some of your posts to my family, who have never done ballet in their lives, but they still loved them! I started at 13, so I’m still relatively new to the world of pink tights and ballet shoes, but I absolutely love it, and I’m planning on a dance major in college. So thanks for being an inspiration to everyone, not just adult beginners!
    -Anonymous Dancer

    • Hey AD, thanks so much for letting me know! Totally makes my day, seriously. Wishing you lots of merde in your dancing future!
      (you know merde means good luck in ballet, right? You probably totally do but I have to make sure I didn’t just inexplicably cuss in French at a fifteen year old omg)

  3. Jessica says:

    Late commenting but have to totally laugh at the yoga/ballet language difference. Had a teacher once say, “This isn’t yoga, ladies. There’s a right way to do this step, not whatever you feel like is right for you in the moment.”

Leave a Reply

