Why is that one swan barking…

We ended a combination the other day with this pose, that was like head tilted to the side, resting on the back of one hand with the other arm up in the air and that hand kind of drifting gracefully,
Really dreamy and soft, a neat moment to look in the mirror and just be like, “ooh, pretty.”
Not like usual, how looking in the mirror has a goal, like, do my eyebrows look crazy, is there a bird in my hair, does this bustle make my butt look big?
Or in ballet class: are my hips level, is my knee in line with my toes, am I gripping the barre with my foot like a monkey?
So I’m looking in the mirror all dreamily, just thinking, “ooh, pretty,” and then Smirnoff points out that this is when we all transform into swans, our raised arm is the swan’s long neck, our hand is the swan’s head and beak, our head is the swan’s back.
So of course I start thinking of all the other animals we might be making with our hand up in the air like this, like shadow animals you make on the wall before the projector starts showing the filmstrip.
(Do kids still do that? Do filmstrips still happen?)
Giraffe. Barking dog. Snake. Snake Lake! Bat. Butterfly. Gun. Pew! Pew!
Like this:

20140507-141853.jpg
Aaaand that is why the Adult Beginner can’t be trusted with pretty things.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude, Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Why is that one swan barking…

  1. Zebra says:

    I think some performances of “Swan Lake” would be greatly improved by shadow puppetry. Perhaps a good thing you put this idea in my head almost a year AFTER I was responsible for getting 50 swans to do a Pretty Swan “Please Don’t Shoot Me” port de bras. I don’t think breaking out the shadow puppets would’ve gone down so well with the Artistic Director, even if some of the audience would’ve enjoyed it ;) Who knows, maybe the swans could’ve scared the hunters off with Terrifying Shadow Beasts…

  2. chrisgo says:

    Pew, pew, pew…

  3. RO says:

    Hahaha!! Man you crack me up every time..! Love your drawings too :-)

  4. ms.spectator says:

    Is there a bird in my hair.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Our syllabus class is all Romantic and La Sylphide-y, and the port de bras begins and ends with a Taglioni-style back-of-hand-to-chin pose best described as Pensive Fairy (though if you’ve done any baby signing with young master AB you’ll know it as Almost Biscuit.)
    Now, however, I’ll be calling it Curious Giraffe.
    (and I’ll be in Snake Lake: The Musical at the first opportunity)

Leave a Reply

