Hey Baby, those legs go all the way?

That come-on has always cracked me up, because how is that conversation supposed to continue? She says “uh, yes? Obviously?” and then Mr. LoveMan-the-pick-up-machine says, “oh, ok well that’s good.” And then she walks away and he is alone.
Right? Is there any other way that conversation would go? Gentle Reader, that line ever work on or for you?
Anyway,
Not very many people in class the other day.
Lots and lots of space along the barre.
Tons of space.
Next girl was like ten miles away.
But even so I caught myself angling away from the barre when I did any kind of arabesque or battement to the back, as if I was anywhere near kicking anybody.
Like for realz, Adult Beginner, how the hell long do you think your legs even are.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hey Baby, those legs go all the way?

  1. Basia says:

    You crack me up! Thanks for the laugh!

  2. RO says:

    Hahaha love this!

  3. karma007 says:

    I get it. I kicked the end of a portable barre once and the pain was SO terrible, I ALWAYS angle out when doing a grande battement, whether I need the room or not!

  4. natalie says:

    love your blog, always makes me smile :) I am scared of kicking people, but also scared of looking round to check and therefore looking like I think my grand battement could possibly present a threat. I don’t usually check now, I leave it to the person behind to worry about.

  5. Wendy S says:

    You crack me up, as always. :D

  6. Pingback: People getting crazy around books, and a time capsule of 1950′s ballet outfits. | Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

