The Cranes Dance. Read it, for reals.

Sometimes when I’m reading a book I’m really into, I’ll slow down close to the end so I can live in that world just a little bit longer,
Right?
We all do this right?
I just read The Cranes Dance by Meg Howrey,
In two days.
Two. Days.
I don’t have two days to read books. I have a one year old.
I was so into The Cranes Dance that I read as fast as I could like it was a battle and I had to break the spell and win my life back.
Seriously.
The main character has a voice that is So Real you guys, it’s like finding an old friend.
I felt simultaneously like I wanted her to just keep talking, no matter what happened with the plot, just keep talking, while also needing it to be over so I could exist again.
This is my favorite ballet fiction ever.
It starts out with a description of Swan Lake which kinda reminded me of the way I described Swan Lake except that hers is way funnier.
I loved that this is a ballet book where weight is not a plot point.
I loved that this is a ballet book where predatory artistic director is not a plot point.
I just really loved it, you should read it.
I have to go now so I can send the author an email and tell her how much I loved her book.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Cranes Dance. Read it, for reals.

  1. Barbara says:

    Cant wait to read it. I feel the same way. When a book speaks to me it is like having to say goodbye to a close friend. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. kitteacat says:

    This book is literally on my bedside table. Right. Now. I just haven’t started yet – can’t wait to read it!

  3. Paulina says:

    Someone else told me about this book, too. I think I really need to read it.

  4. RO says:

    I got this book when I won a ballet photo contest. Haven’t got the chance to read it yet but you’re the second person who is recommending it so I think I’d better hurry up reading The Shining by Stephen King and get to reading this book!!

  5. I read it a couple of weeks ago and loved it too! :D

    • Yes! I loved so much about it. Remember that moment where Kate describes developing her signature look based on the cover of Marguerite Duras’s The Lover. The cover art immediately leaps to mind and says so much. It was just a little moment but it was great.

      • Definitely! I think I was hooked from the moment she started describing Swan Lake – it’s rare to find that much humour in a ballet book, especially one that talks about such serious other topics.

  6. Agree! I loved this book so much! And being from Detroit, I thought all the Michigan references were super fun. I just wish the book had never ended!

  7. Nadine says:

    I just finished reading it based on your recommendation – LOVED it! Thank you so much.

  8. Caitlyn says:

    I’m reading this now…her description of Swan Lake totally reminded me of your writing style in general. Loving it so far!

Leave a Reply

