fundraiser for Vasily

Gentle Reader, I hope you had a great Thanksgiving, or, like, a great Thursday for most of the world.
The Adult Beginner has a lot to be thankful for.
Thankful that pink tights are part of my life,
Thankful that I’m not putting them on today,
Thankful for ballet friends all over the world.

Speaking of ballet community, check out this online auction fundraiser,
For Vasily
to raise money for cancer treatment for Vasily Vorokhobko, a beloved teacher at the Bolshoi Ballet.
The fundraiser is being organized by Cloud&Victory (purveyor of excellent and hilarious t-shirts) and Joy Womack (first American dancer to join the Bolshoi)
Lots of neat things up for auction, including signed pointe shoes, jeweled headdresses, gift certificates and, like, the chance to be a part of the ballet community gathering together to help one of our own.
Is that presumptuous of me to say one of “our” own? Like including myself, like I’m anywhere near part of any world that includes the Bolshoi? Probably? But whatev’s, I’m saying it.
Auction is open from December 1-10, worldwide.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to fundraiser for Vasily

  1. guyenne says:

    The “our” sounds fine to me, but then I’ve run into coincidences in dance class that would be absolutely bizarre anywhere else. Like I took class from a teacher who did modern dance classes with Madonna at Martha Graham before she was famous, and I took class from a teacher in California who had done a performance with a teacher of mine from upstate NY back in the early 1980s. And it continues on into famous companies and things as well. It’s Seven Degrees of Kevin Bacon done through the small number of professional dance companies/schools.

Leave a Reply

