Unboxing the Modern Classic

Gentle Reader, really excellent unboxing experience to share with you right here.
Ready?
Here goes.
Boring ol’ postage box:

20131025-211655.jpg

Reveals, ooh, what’s this?

20131025-211741.jpg

Pretty!

20131025-211821.jpg

Open the magnetic lid,

20131025-211944.jpg

Ooooooooh. Pretty.

20131025-212124.jpg

Like I said in this post, ballet is all about strength packaged in something beautiful and I want to see that feeling reflected in the packaging of ballet items, and opening this package completely delighted me and made me punch my fist in the air and say That’s What I’m Talking ‘Bout!!!
Ok but enough about the box, what’s in the box is the Modern Classic Tunic by Gwenyth brand, check out their kick starter for more info here, it is as delightful and well thought out as the packaging, I know because I got to be a beta-tester and give feedback and it was awesome because it combined two ways the Adult Beginner loves to nerd out: ballet and garment construction!
That is what I’m Talking ‘Bout!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Unboxing the Modern Classic

  1. Janet says:

    Looks good. Anticipating your evaluation.

  2. Wendy S says:

    I see your chicken head logo (?) on their website! Coooool!

    • Yes!
      I didn’t have an official logo, just never had a need for one before, so I sent in that image and the Gwenyth brand team logo-itized it for me, which I thought was pretty sweet.
      Suppose I better work up a little logo of my own though just in case it comes up again.

  3. heycarahe says:

    Seems like a cool idea for a garment, but it only goes up to a size ten/c-cup bra. I won’t be supporting it, ’cause I like my activewear without a side of size discrimination.

    • I’ll pass this along, feedback and critique and suggestions are helpful and welcome, I’m guessing, especially at this early part of the process.

      • Janet says:

        I agree with heycarahe. There are lots of potential customers who do not fit in the current size range. It is hard enough to be a plus size, without having to settle for the almost non-existent options currently available!

        • Ok, so,
          Word from Gwenyth headquarters regarding size is:
          The internal bra -which is not your typical shelf bra, more of a free-hanging shaped soft-cup- was built by the designer on her own body (which I totally do too when I’m messing around with a project at home, I’ll build it my size so I can try it on) and then they realized as the design evolved that the same bra design could be expanded to a B and C cup, but that it would require some reconfiguration to provide proper comfort and security for the next sizes.
          Most of my feedback to Gwenyth was about the bra. Bras are tricky.
          Another reason for the current size range is just plain start-up finances: basically their manufacturers could do colors or sizes but not both, so they started with colors and will move on to sizes once the business gets going.
          So there is a plan!

  4. RO says:

    Seems nice! Would like to know how it turns out! :-)

  5. Oooh, very nice! I’m a backer now, I hope the kickstarter makes it so I can get a super-cute top too! :D

  6. Terez Mertes says:

    Woo hoo, I was a beta tester, too! Am off to write about it at The Classical Girl right now, as a matter of fact. And (drum roll…) post pics of myself in it. Those of you talking about “won’t fit my chest,” well, that was my concern too, and I’m happy to report that it held me in appropriately enough, through a ballet class, through backbends, through some tricky stuff that has made me, er, pop out, in the past. So, while it doesn’t cup my full chest in as snugly as my current Danskin leotard, it has great fabric that moves with you, which is an important part of the big-chested game, as I’m sure some of you know.

    AB – I LOVE the color of the one you got. I played it safe and went with black. They’re pretty darned cute, all of them, regardless of color. And comfy.

    • Isn’t it a great color?
      I was eyeing that color, the rose berry, but then thought Girl no, be safe, go with black, but then they didn’t have any available in my size so I had to go with the color I really wanted in the first place, so yay!
      That’s great that you were a tester too, I like your review. Very thorough!

  7. Pingback: Best Day Ever! | KitTeaCat does Ballet

  8. Pingback: Gwenyth asks Adult Beginner a thing or two. | Adult Beginner

  9. Pingback: Pretty in pink. Isn’t she. | Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

