How to ruche your front

Here is a little tutorial on turning a boring and flat leotard into a pretty and way more dancer-like ruched front leotard.
How come a ruched front looks totally dancer-like? I don’t know , I don’t make the rules.
Ok let’s define terms:
Ruche, pronounced “roooosh”, basically means gathering in the middle of something. Like, as opposed to gathering along the edge. Which would create a ruffle not a ruche.
Also, ruche is French for beehive.
Totally confused?
Great!
Moving on.
A lot of dancewear manufacturers refer to ruched-front leotards as “pinch front”, which I think is a cop-out because if we can all learn ballet French why not learn fashion French too.
Right?
Ok let’s go.
I’m using a really boring grey scoop neck t shirt that I bought like five years ago, way back before I’d ever taken any ballet, because it looked dancer-y to me.
And I’m going to transform it using the same construction as my totally basic Capezio ruche front camisole leotard, which really is dancer-y.

Start here:

20131001-164425.jpg

So boring ahmahgahhhd!!!
Find your center,
I used my dress form, you can just fold your leo/shirt in half and iron the fold so you have a nice crease to mark your center.
Cut a piece of 5/8ths inch ribbon at 4 1/2 inches. If you don’t like inches, just use the other side of your tape measure where the centimeters are.

20131001-165048.jpg

Press 1/2 inch on each end

20131001-165133.jpg

Pin to your center on the inside of the garment

20131001-165239.jpg

Sew both long edges and along the center

20131001-165351.jpg

Use a tiny safety pin to thread a narrow ribbon through the channels you’ve created. My tiny safety pin is red. I don’t know why.

20131001-165525.jpg

Pull the ends and tie a knot

20131001-165629.jpg

Bam. Now you are totally a dancer.

20131001-165721.jpg
High-fives and jetés for everyone.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in DIY, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How to ruche your front

  1. Teri says:

    I love it when the sewing lady comes out – thanks for the way cool tip.

  2. leslie says:

    I JUST did this over the weekend to a plain front leotard, but using a piece of elastic instead. I love your turbo-casing approach though. Thanks!

  3. Paulina says:

    I am going to try that. My sewing machine has been feeling neglected recently, I guess, so here is work. And I too have some t-shirts that are pretty but somewhat boring.

  4. Diane says:

    this is so cool! I have always just used a safety-pin to ruche my leos, and then -of course- the pin ends up tearing the fabric eventually and there are holes. -sigh-
    I am so grateful for all these professional sewing tips!
    Thank you!

  5. RO says:

    Ahwwww so cute!! And it looks really simple…. think I’m gonna do this soon!! Thanks :-D

  6. I just love it how you make everything look so SIMPLE!
    Now teach us the secret to chainés.

  7. Pingback: How To Jazz Up Your Leotard Via Adult Beginner | Adult Ballerina Project

  8. I LOVE this tip, plus “high fives and jetes for everyone” so totally just entered my vocabulary! Thanks, AB! <3

  9. Jecca says:

    You are a damn genius and I adore you.

  10. karen030710 says:

    If only finding my centre was that simple!

Leave a Reply

