Confidence

A new girl came to class the other day,
And, like, she just wandered in off the street with nothing.
No slippers, not the right amount of money,
Called her roommate to bring more money, did the class in socks.
Socks!
And Gentle Reader, she was great.
Totally happy to be there, not afraid, really a great addition to the class.
It was pretty awesome because, I mean, The Adult Beginner spends a certain amount of probably too much time worrying about class etiquette and ballet faux pas and being respectful to tradition and stuff, and, like, if it had been me I might’ve become totally embarrassed and ran away when I realized I didn’t have enough cash in hand or the right footwear and just left 4-evar,
So it’s really great to get a reminder that, like, yes conforming to ballet traditions is good, but just showing up and being excited is the primary thing.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Confidence

  1. karma007 says:

    Oh! As an adult beginner of 38, I was petrified, and even a year later, fuss over what I’m wearing every week! My first class was petrifying, my hands shook so bad on the barre!

  2. nicola.lynde says:

    I think that’s so key! Nothing worse when some one comes to a class and gives up, refuses to do something because they are worried about what they look like. We’re all beginners at some things and the important thing is trying.

  3. City Girl says:

    “Nobody cares if you can’t dance well. Just get up and dance. Great dancers are great because of their passion.”
    ― Martha Graham

  4. Yeah, I know what you mean… sometimes we need to be less Griffyndor and a bit more HufflePuff. Or something like that.
    (too nerdy??)

  5. Yasmine says:

    Did my first class in socks as well :P

  6. Joyce says:

    I WANT to be that girl…but I’m more the girl who hides in a corner when it’s time to go to center.

  7. kaija24 says:

    That’s a great reminder that showing up is the main obstacle and that being less self-conscious can be freeing (I am also a fusser and an overanalyser). I will try to incorporate some of that care-free attitude for myself. Fake it till you make it, right? :)

Leave a Reply

