Don’t be fooled by the clogs that I bought

More blog-doings a’ transpiring:
Got an email a while back, asking if I would be up for doing a custom drawing.
And if so, how much would I charge?
And, ok Gentle Reader, if you draw or paint or sew or make things, you know. This is a really hard question.
Maybe the hardest question.
It is really hard to set a price for your own stuff.
Had a bunch of nebulous feelings of yuckiness about naming a price so I wrote to my painter friend in NYC for advice, and got a great email back about Things,
Like a reminder of the value of my time, and how a drawing for a client will take more time than something I just scribble off for myself. There’ll be thinking and sketching and re-sketching and worrying and seeing it through another persons eyes and wondering if its good enough.
And I had thought maybe the price should be in some increments of the price of a ballet class, because that had a nice symmetry in my mind, and she reminded me again to value my time and maybe take into account the price of a class, a babysitter, gas to drive to class, maybe even a latté to perk up pre-class if I’m feeling fancy,
And how even a simple drawing is backed and informed by an entire education.
Like how people who are good at things generally weren’t just born good, they have skills that had to be earned and honed, a price for artwork is an acknowledgment of that education and the use of learned skills.
I feel like this ties in to dance, honoring the years of education that reside in a dancers body, a teacher’s body…
Anyway, it was a really great email and I printed it out to frame it and hang in the room where my husband and I work on projects, and he saw it lying on the work table and was all, “Girl please. Copy paper? We can do better.” So, like, he’s gonna print it on a Nicer Paper and then we’ll frame and hang.
Anyway, so I named my price, and emailed to the emailer, wondering what the reaction would be, and the reaction was Great, I’ll take two.
Ok!
Did the drawings, felt good about the experience, and bought these!

20130913-151134.jpg

Red Clogs Forevah!!!!!
Omygawd I love these clogs.
They’re so red! And tall! And loud, omg I’m so loud marching around in these things, I love it.
I’m gonna make sure Smirnoff sees these before I change into my slippers, I am curious about his take on Actual Wooden Soles.
He loved my cheapie plastic soled canvas Mary Janes, you know, the kind we all wore in high school in the 90’s and called china doll shoes. He said they looked very flexible.
But he hated my ballet-flat-shaped Crocs, which were at least as flexible if not more flexible.
Not that his opinion will change my clog-wearing-ways, I just want to know because I love people who have Opinions.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Don’t be fooled by the clogs that I bought

  1. Zebra says:

    Just watch he doesn’t try to make you learn this as a result: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=V5H4UMbKkgs#t=32

  2. OMG I HATE pricing things. And sometimes I price things way too low because I look at it and think “dude! There is no way I could afford that!” so I have to keep reminding myself that I am NOT THE CUSTOMER. Argh argh argh. And then you underprice something that was super awful to work on (like, say, a pin-up girl set made out of the slimiest and most irritable silk that ever existed.) and then someone buys it and you’re like “aw, that’s nice” and then they write you an e-mail that’s all “this is a bit overpriced, in my opinion” and then you’re like “GRRRRRRR :-< "
    Not that anything like that has ever happened to me. Ahem.

  3. Paulina says:

    And Smirnoff will most certainly have an opinion and will not be shy about telling you, I guess. Let us know, what he said, please. I love this guy.

  4. You know, I have no idea how much the clogs cost you, so I can’t say if your price was good. But I do know one thing: we can’t think we price our own work too high. Especially art! Next time, just imagine that you’re visiting an art gallery and seeing one of those things that you just have to ask yourself if it really should be in that place. Look at the price for that stuff and then price your own work. Because you’ll never think it would be the same case as the questionable stuff in the gallery, so you can price it whatever you like! :)
    Oh and by the way… your drawings are awesome. You should start an instagram with them.

  5. Nadine says:

    So how much is it for a custom drawing? And what IS a custom drawing, anyway? Does the customer specify a colour scheme or ask you to base it on an existing photo or what? I’m super-interested! Love your drawings and can never get enough of them. :)

    • Hey thanks!
      Custom meaning made just for you, in this case the client emailed me a personal photo and pictures of ballet clothing, and we talked about the pose and stuff and the final product was a digital image, since I do all these drawings on my iPad not on, like, oldey timey paper or whatever.
      Price is $50 via paypal, email me if you’re interested in knowing more, or just to say hi.

  6. Tara Nyanga says:

    I would LOVE to see what she wrote about your time!!! Can I have a copy? so encouraging! And, LOVE the red clogs…reminds me of my single, New York days when I could indulge myself in nice shoes….someday i will be there again…sigh. until then, I will live vicariously.

    • I am so bad about buying shoes. And not in a Carrie Bradshaw way, more like the opposite way, the never-buying-nice-shoes, cheap-shoes-4-evah way, so I’m very pleased with these.

Leave a Reply

