Those cotton tights.

Oh man, Gentle Reader, I kind of hate to admit this but:
I’ve actually been wearing the Danskin cotton tights that I got from the discount bin that turned out to be all faded in patches and with totally dead crackley elastic.
The ones I should have just thrown away.
I know! I should have a little dignity already and just get rid of them!
Sheesh.
Ok but in my defense, once they were washed the fading wasn’t so obvious and the all the crackley dry elastic bits were washed away and now the elastic is just all stretched out and sits there and does nothing, including does not pinch in at the waist, so that’s awesome, and it’s been really really hot here and I really wanted to get some of that “cool cotton comfort”, so, well, I’ve been wearing them, so there.
Side note: I gotta say I really love the hypocrisy of complaining about the heat all day long and then turning around and putting on tights.
It’s so perverse and martyr-y.
Funny thing about cotton tights: they feel like a costume.
I’ve never actually worn a costume involving cotton tights so I don’t really know where this feeling is coming from, but every now and then when I’m driving to class or plugging in the class boom-box I’ll catch a glimpse of the cotton texture and think of Ramona Quimby in the Christmas Pageant, in her sheep costume, except that make no sense either because her costume was pajamas not tights.
If I’m remembering the book correctly.
And thinking about Ramona and the Christmas pageant always makes me think of that moment in the book where they’re backstage getting ready and one of the older girls turns from her make-up mirror and uses her eyeliner to draw a little black sheep’s nose on Ramona’s nose.
I love that moment. Loved reading it as a little kid, love it now.
Anyway.
Cotton tights take dye well and are used in theater.
Maybe that has something to do with it.
Who knows.
Anyway, they are pretty nice and cool.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books!, OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Those cotton tights.

  1. RO says:

    I get the martyr-y thing-y, I have to wear tights tonight in class and it’s going to be 28 degrees celcius out here!!! (And The Netherlands can be really really damp/moist/humid when it’s that hot.) Talk about self-sacrifice!

  2. Nicola says:

    Haha! My convertible tights options for tonight look as follows…
    1) the pair that are an alarming salmon pink instead of the usual pale ballet colour.
    2) the ballet pink pair that have gone kind of grey and blotchy
    3) the ballet pink pair that are less grey, but have been darned twice, and are stretching see through in places
    4) black, slightly shiny, with holes at the toes.
    5) favourite black with holes at the toes, and one beginning ‘ under the skirt’…( might not make it through the next grande battement)
    6) black, but too big, and inclined to ruck under the foot, very uncomfortable on demi.
    Not good. I’m going to go out and buy a pack of TEN pairs. As soon as I have time.

  3. kaija24 says:

    The best thing about cotton tights is that they tend to be more matte and less shiny than some other tights! :)

  4. I recently decided that, on days hotter than 90 degrees F, I refuse to wear tights. But it takes a bold (bold? I might be being overly nice to myself here) woman to run around in a leotard and tiny shorts or just a ballet skirt. Maybe I’ll give the cotton tights a try.

    • That’s pretty bold all right.
      The cotton tights are still, you know, tights, so they won’t be as cool as nothing is. I mean duh, you know that.
      Some of the ladies in my class wear legwarmers on these triple-digit days. How are they not warm enough already??? But I guess one could always be warmer.

  5. Ashley says:

    Cotten tights take dye well…might you just dye them to fix the lovely fading issue? because we all know you have those skills.

    • Girl please.
      The Adult Beginner cannot be bothered to dye things. Color matching is a very specific skill requiring concentration and attention to detail and, just, heck no.
      Plus I don’t even wanna think about turning the stove on right now.
      But I appreciate the vote of confidence.

  6. OMG! I STILL call my sister “sensible Beatrice”!

  7. Michael says:

    I just bought some cotton blend MENS tights from Dance4less and LOVE them!!! They are so soft and comfy!!!

      • Michael says:

        What is it that makes cotton blend so comfy to wear?? I think these tights are made by dance4less and the only problem I found was the waistband was very narrow and had to have a seamstress replace it. If any of you ladies are sick of the uncomfortable ladies tights, I strongly recommend giving these mens tights a try!!!

        • That’s a good idea, I wonder if anyone’s tried that? My guess is that men’s tights are cut longer in the torso and the waist band is bigger. Maybe the legs are longer too? If any ladies reading this have tried men’s tights, please inform.

          • Michael says:

            I’m not good sure that’s entirely accurate because I’ve worn ladies tights too a couple times over the years and found no real difference in cut other than the fact I’d wear a 2X while the average lady wears a size B or C. The ONLY difference I’ve found is thickness, but you know like I know that not al companies manufacture their clothing the same. And if mens tights are bigger in the torso area, so what? I’ve seen some women who wear their tights over a leotard pull them up over their chest in class. I’m trying to get some form of an accurate sizing chart from dance4less. The 3X tights I bought from them are a bit too big!!!…

      • Michael says:

        Can you email me sometime please? I’d like to chat in private…

        • Sure! Or email me if I don’t get to you in a couple days, I may get distracted and loose track.

          • Michael says:

            I don’t have any other way to contact you other than via this site, adult beginner. I really do have something idols to discuss out of public view which has been bothering me most of the time I’ve been practicing ballet. So how do I email you? You’ve got my email.

Leave a Reply

