Port de bras #4 a la poulet

20130610-150122.jpg

Port de bras exercise number four!
About time!
I think it’s interesting that Smirnoff really emphasizes that we lean back in that middle moment, which makes me imagine that I’m throwing a javelin while at the same time I AM THE JAVELIN (whoa) but Vaganova doesn’t mention this leaning back in Basic Principles of Classical Ballet. Hmm.
Only one port de bra left, and then the grande port de bras, which I’ve never actually done in class. Wonder what will happen first, drawing it or actually doing it.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Port de bras #4 a la poulet

  1. Nadine says:

    Love this! Each one’s going straight onto Pinterest, baby! I’m RAD rather than Vaganova, so I’m fascinated. :)

  2. Love it! These are really awesome!

  3. RainStorm says:

    That’s one angry port de bra-ing chicken! :)

  4. Diane says:

    That is interesting that your teacher wants you to lean back. I had also not learned it that way (also taught Vaganova), but perhaps this is an alternative way of thinking of it in order to really “open the chest”?
    Anyway, I love the chickens!
    You are aware of the chicken-dance in “La Fille mal Gardée”, aren’t you? http://youtu.be/JhfWYJRWAvo

  5. RO says:

    Hahaha these are so cool :-D

  6. My teacher just rolls her eyes and arches her eyebrows when I mention Vaganova. She thinks the Russian are too stiff or whatever.
    What happens to the feet on that 3rd step? Is it like an arabesque?
    You have to – HAVE TO – turn this series into a calendar. Or something like that. Pleeeeaaaseeee!

Leave a Reply

