Port de bras #1 a lá poulet

20130507-100222.jpg

Sometimes if I draw a picture I remember it better.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude, Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Port de bras #1 a lá poulet

  1. f says:

    great post… may I ask, what (step) were you trying to remeber?

    • Port de bras #1, duh!!!
      Oh wait, I forget the port de bras are a Vaganova thing, not an everybody thing.
      I retract the duh.
      Here’s what it is: In the Vaganova school there are five port de bras exercises, specifically choreographed, meant to set in a student’s body the tilt of the head and the use of the shoulders and hands and all these little things that make ballet expressive.
      Once you’ve mastered the five there’s a grande port de bras to bring it on home
      My teacher will call them out by number, as in, “My Dear! Please, port de bras number three!” and then I have a moment of panic where I try to remember if that’s the one that’s like The Matrix (#5) or the one that’s like doing semaphore(#2).
      This one, #1, is the simplest. I remember is as The Easy One.

  2. Andre says:

    I forget if we’ve ever discussed this, but here is the chicken dance that opens my favorite comedic ballet ever: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhfWYJRWAvo

    There’s a behind the scenes video of that where you can see one of the chickens in full costume doing rond de jambe at a barre, presumably warming up to do chickeney things.

  3. kiwiktn says:

    Please, please, please draw the Matrix port de bras for us!

Leave a Reply

