Watercolor everywhere but not a drop in sight.

20130328-091801.jpg
Just messing around with ArtRage.
Ok so, seems like when I was a kid I remember all babies, like my sister for example, all babies wanted to get ahold of two things more than anything else in the world: the car keys and the tv remote control.
My sister had a little toy key ring even, but she knew it was not the real thing and would still grab for the real keys.
But nowadays, all my baby wants to get ahold of is my phone and my iPad. He couldn’t give less of a damn about my car keys; he’s barely even seen the remote. But he knows the phone, and it’s getting more difficult to take a photo where he’s not looking right at camera, which kinda freaks me out.
He was on my lap just now watching me watercolor this thing, with a stylus and a screen and no water involved. On the one hand I want to reduce his exposure to screen time, but on the other hand I’ll be really happy if he associates devices with making things and generating content.
Modern Timez Is Hard You Guys!!!!!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in ce n'est pas une mom blog, Drawings of great sillitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Watercolor everywhere but not a drop in sight.

  1. Yup. My little nephew (probably close to the same age as your guy) loves phones (both smartphones and good old land lines) and ipads.

    My friend’s two-year-old recently purchased himself a new game, connected it to his playlist and learned how to play the game in the 20 minutes he was left alone with an ipad. No joke.

  2. f says:

    I dont have anything against the use of new media, but honestly, when I was 2 years old, I was watercoloring with real watercolors, and I still had a happy childhood… Do you encourage this or is it just your children who want to play with your ipads?
    Good old times when the remote was still interesting…

Leave a Reply

