There is a roundness.

Smirnoff is still reminding me to think about my tummy,
“Remember, my dear, pull in the tummy every time you go down into plié! And every time you go up into relevé!”
And all the times in between too, right?
But lately he’s also been really on me about never relaxing my knees when they’re supposed to be straight,
“Pull the legs taught, like a cord, my dear!”
and about turning the heel forward,
“The heel is the face of the foot! You must show the face to the audience!”
These are all good basic corrections on stuff I should be doing anyway, so I didn’t think too much of it until the other day when Smirnoff announces that keeping my legs strong and presenting the heel will help with my inner thighs where,
“There is still a roundness!”
Which I think is actually pretty generous.
Pretty sure there’s still A Roundness everywhere.
But as he says, “You are almost back to your self, my dear. So we must continue to work!”
I’m glad he’s taking the time to notice and help me. But I’m also glad that I’ve been a part of his class long enough that I can just accept this kind of thing as he means it, as a helpful correction, and not just Die Of Total Embarrassment in front of my classmates like I would’ve three years ago.
Incidentally, I think it’s been three years now I’ve been doing this blog thing. Thanks for being here with me, Gentle Reader!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the Body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to There is a roundness.

  1. chrisgo says:

    Three years, that’s nuts, I’m at about the same place myself.
    Congrats for sticking with both dancing and entertaining all of us with your blog!

  2. loveablestef says:

    Awesome sauce. And by that I mean your blog, blogging for 3 years, how you can take Smirnoff’s *ahem* helpful comments, and just in general. If you were bottled up, you would be awesome sauce. I very much enjoy your blog.

  3. roriroars says:

    That Smirnoff, he never ceases to entertain. I’m sure there are a lot of people who are appalled at what he says (and I think if I initially met him I would be, too), but there’s a part of me that so admires his unabashed honesty. If he were just trying to be mean that would be a different story, but over the years you can tell how dedicated he is to his students and teaching the art of ballet and I wish more of us adults could find that. Huzzah, Smirnoff!

    Oh, and on your 3-year anniversary [sap-tastic alert!], this blog has been so awesome… I found it when I had just decided to go back to ballet after a long, long break and was in the midst of a terrible-awful-no-good-very-bad job. Whenever I was feeling low I knew I could always go read some past posts and crack myself up. And it also helped me when I was teaching briefly to know how to approach adults, to know that I didn’t have to be soft and cuddly all the time, I could be tough and my students would appreciate it. So huzzah, Ms. AB!

  4. Blondie says:

    Wow three years! Congrats! Love it!!

  5. mladen says:

    Well, then, another belated congrats is in order!

    Very happy to read your posts, indeed!

  6. fralex says:

    Thats so true… I just started reading your blog and I really like the way you write. By the way, I love your teacher!

Leave a Reply

