Stick a fork in it

It’s done.

20130303-095508.jpg
That only took me, what, twelve days?
FFS.
Anyway!
Did something different this time: pulled the elastic drawstring tighter at the inner side of the foot only, and stitched through in two places to anchor it, then loosened the elastic at the front of the foot. If this works like I think it will, the shoes will hug the inner foot while not putting extra pressure on the tendons on top of the foot. So there.
Taped down the ends of the drawstring using that medical tape stuff, the kind that looks like grosgrain.
Didn’t end up whipping down the sole because Twelve Days, People!
Sheesh.
But now it’s done, yay!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in OMG outfits you guys! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stick a fork in it

  1. Allison says:

    You did it! Doesn’t matter that it took twelve days, because it’s DONE. I’m impressed with your mad sewing skillz, because I will never ever, ever sew anything. (like, ever.)

  2. Jordan says:

    I think you need a celebration song!

  3. Blondie says:

    I think I need to look into taping down those elastic ends. They’re always such annoying little things.

  4. Rebecca says:

    Nice work!
    What do you do when you whip down the sole?

    • Just a little whip stitch to hold the canvas inner sole to the canvas lining, so the inner sole can’t bunch up under your toes or travel.
      In theory.
      I’ve never actually bothered.

  5. Janet says:

    Yeah! My mom likes to save things. Good example is a robe my Dad gave her when my older sister was born. That was 1956. My late father always said Mom was saving things for the Salvation Army. So twelve days to sew the new ballet shoes is light speed.

  6. kiwiktn says:

    So I tried your little trick with pulling the elastic tighter around the arches and sewing it there, so that it stops digging in on the tendons on top of the foot. I’ve already worn my new slippers for a few hours and undid the knot………………….. and promptly lost the ends of the elastic in the canvassy depths of the slipper. 1 1/2 hours and several horizontal surgical incisions in the elastic canal later, I have done one slipper and can’t be bothered doing it to the second. So I’m going to leave it at one and see if I notice the difference.

    (So far I’ve only noticed that a demi-point has the slipper gaping right in front of the arch where it’s not pulled as tightly anymore. So I may need to adjust and add tight areas further up, leaving only the top part looser.)

    • Losing the ends of the elastic is like my worst nightmare!
      High-five to you for going in after them, I think I’d just throw them across the room while howling with rage.

Leave a Reply

