The best defense is a good offense I guess

So, Adult Beginner gets spammy promo emails pretty often,
If you have a blog too you know the type,
They’re all like, “Hi! I am Totally Not a robot! Your readers will be interested in my content! Please promote my website on your blog!”
I delete them like Strongbad.
Deleted!!!
Except just the other day I got one that kinda intrigued me. It was asking me to share a ballet inspired fashion line with my readers, and I liked the lookbook.
The email, which seemed to be from a real person, was all like “if you have any questions I’d be happy to answer them,”
So I was like Why Yes I Do Has The Questions!
So I wrote back with a bunch of stuff like Are the dancers in the background affiliated with a particular school or company? Is the model a dancer? What brand of pointe shoes are you featuring? And you have lots of pretty shots of Los Angeles, are the clothes manufactured here? Designed here? What’s the LA connection?
And most important question: Can I host a give-away?
And guess what, Gentle Reader?
No Response!
At All!
Whatsoever!
I totally scared them away with my interest in their brand!!!!
Hahahhahaaaaaaa!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Bark! Bark! Bark! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The best defense is a good offense I guess

  1. They were so stunned at having managed to generate interest, they didn’t know how to cope with it!

  2. Ugh. I get those things all the time. Mostly from spammy chiropractors and stuff. Your readers would love to hear about hip replacement surgery! No. No they wouldn’t. For reals. The first time I got one I wrote back and said “okay, so tell me about yourself and what you would like to contribute to my blog” and got… nothing. So. Yeah.

    • Man. Totally missed opportunity! I mean really, if the spammy chiro actually wrote back and was a real person and was funny, who knows, maybe your readers would’ve totally been into it. Maybe I need a job as a spammy spammer. Hmmph.

  3. Cait says:

    Strongbad reference. YES.

  4. michael says:

    Do you have Akismet installed on your blog? Its pretty good at filtering spam comments. Plus WordPress have tons of plugins to neatly sift out them spammers. You also have to be careful about replying to spam as it open doorways to infiltration into your site. Try AVH First Defense Against Spam its pretty good at stopping even the most sly spammers. peace

Leave a Reply

