Insert cowbell joke here

Oh man, Gentle Reader, I have been out of it!
And not just because of the new-baby-no-sleep thing-
The Adult Beginner can totes handle that
(Ha! Hear that? That’s my daytime bravado talking)
I had a fever, complete with chills and uncontrollable shivering.
And it was totally stupid because I never get sick, so, you know, I’m not very good at being sick.
Just kept thinking this obnoxious, spiking-at-about-101-every-afternoon problem would go away on its own and then, like, it kept Not going away on its own and I was too exhausted and fever-brained to figure out any plan other than wait for it to go away on its own and finally Mr. Adult Beginner was like goddamnit woman! Go to the doctor!
And Thin Mint was like goddamnit woman! I will drive you to the doctor and take your baby for a walk around the neighborhood so you don’t have to take him in to the doctor with you! Which is really just a good excuse to hold your baby! So it’s win/win goddamnit!
So anyway, went to the doctor, he was like, “well it’s not flu or strep [which I totally already knew] so I’m all outta ideas”
So went to another doctor a couple days later who got me some antibiotics which immediately started doing the trick, which was a really good thing as that was day 10 of the fever and I was starting to feel like that can’t-walk-to-the-kitchen-it-is-too-far level of worn-out was the new normal.
So anyway, just wanted to let you know where I was, Gentle Reader.
Carry on.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in ce n'est pas une mom blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Insert cowbell joke here

  1. Nadine says:

    As soon as I got 5 lines into this I was all like ‘breast infection!’ I got them all the time with my first baby. Of course, it’s totally none of my business whether it was or not, but DO look after yourself and watch out for that sneaky mastitis . .

  2. Megan says:

    I immediately thought mastitis too. Never had it while nursing my first but got it at least three times so far with my second. Take it easy and glad the abx did the trick!

  3. Diane says:

    I am sorry you had to go through that! Very hard, anytime, and of course when you have devoted most of your being to looking after your new baby, it is even harder.
    Take care. Stay well. Rest when you can.

  4. Hey thanks ladies,
    Apparently it was not mastitis but a UTI- without the typical godawful pain to clue me in.
    Which seems really weird and I almost kinda don’t believe that diagnosis, but the antibiotics are killing whatever it was so maybe it doesn’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

