Gettin’ Stampy With It

One of my favorite things is going to the post office and asking the postal-workers for “pretty stamps!”
Because the postal dudes are pretty much always male, old, and grumpy, and they mostly look bewildered and repeat “pretty? stamps?” like it’s the most confusing idea they’ve heard all day, while pulling out every single possibility other than flag or liberty bell, while I point and say, “yes! Recycling is pretty!” or “yes! Arizona!”
Went to the post office the other day to get stamps for thank-you notes for baby shower gifts, and look what I scored!

20120906-155814.jpg
Innovative Choreographers!
Yes!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gettin’ Stampy With It

  1. jenerators says:

    how odd that they don’t have a denomination on them? Also, where is Martha Graham? (I heard that Australia Post would be having stamps for the Australian Ballet’s 50th anniversary, but since that’s almost over and the post office I went to most recently knew nothing about it, I may have to dig a little further.)

    • You don’t have Forever stamps in Australia? They are letter-rate 4-Evar! Even if letter-rate goes up. That’s why no denomination.

      • Diane says:

        I had not heard of that before. (letter-rate forever) What a good idea!

        I will have to ask here in Germany if they also have stamps like that. I know that they do now and then have Very Pretty Stamps, but they seem to not stick around for very long :( (or maybe one has to really “dig a little deeper”, as in, “bring cupcakes to coerce the sometimes-grumpy employees”. ;) )

  2. jenerators says:

    aha! I found them! They’re not released till next month: link

  3. Anony Mouse says:

    when i find really special ones, i have a hard time using them because i want to save them.

  4. Dave says:

    That is so cool! Kinda surprised Balanchine isn’t on there though… I wonder what a UK version would be like: Fred Ashton, Kenneth McMillan, Wayne MacGregor and Matthew Bourne perhaps?

  5. owl says:

    You gave me a good giggle just now with “really enjoying using pretty stamps inappropriately . . .”. That. Is the spirit. Also, pretty stamps.

    I’m going for my first ballet class in about a million years (seriously, like more than, let’s say . . . twenty years) next week. It happens that the woman who will be my instructor takes my hot yoga class, so that’ll be an awesome role reversal for both of us. “Struggle harder! Don’t give up!” are things I say, for example. Any tips on what to wear for warming up in a cold room, for someone who is used to hot?

    • That’s great, have an awesome time in class!
      Struggle harder!
      As for warming up: wear layers, and when I’m feeling cold it helps to do something cardio-ish before class starts. Like march around the block, take the stairs instead of the elevator, do plank pose, even knock out a couple sun-salutations, whatever builds heat.
      How fun to be The Teacher Becomes The Student!

  6. Bippidee says:

    I want a Fosse stamp! Although we do have loads of ‘Lympic stamps at the moment which is quite cool. But I still want a Fosse one.

  7. For sure it is something to get. I collect stamps and I love dancing. 2 passions in 1. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

