It’s “eh-foss-SAY”, you morans

Hearing the word “efface” a lot lately,
As in, “the cervix will efface in preparation for labor”,
And each time I hear it I catch myself right before yelling out, “No, dummies, it’s effacé! You say it eh-foss-SAY, ya morans!”
It’s a good thing I don’t yell this out, because it would totally disrupt yoga/birthing class/my appointments with the midwives, and also because I would be totally wrong and the Adult Beginner hates being totally wrong.
Right?
Right.
But it got me wondering how the word efface and the ballet term effacé and the medical use of the word efface are related.
Found a bunch of definitions along the lines of “opposite of croisé”,
Croisé being a position of the body angled between face-on to the viewer and profile to the viewer, otherwise known as diagonal or “gimme a three-quarters view”, in which the legs appear crossed when closed in fifth position. And you say it “cwah-zay”.
However, defining things by what they are not instead of by what they Are is a total lazy cop-out and I won’t stand for it.
So, looked a little more and started to find definitions that were more interesting.
Things like effacé is a oblique position of the body in which the legs appear open when closed in fifth, as though you could slide a piece of paper between them.
Or even more interesting, that in effacé, part of the body appears shaded, obscured,erased.
Which is the definition of efface without the accented e. To wipe out, erase, withdraw, become inconspicuous.
Which is not too far off from the thinning (erasing, inconspicu-ating) of the cervix described as effacement.
So there!
See, everything relates to ballet.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in ce n'est pas une mom blog, Technique and Class and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s “eh-foss-SAY”, you morans

  1. This makes me happy on so many levels. You are a joy to read. Ballet is something that really does relate to every part of life, doesn’t it. Great post!

  2. Laura says:

    OBVIOUSLY a ballet dancer’s cervix would effacé in preparation for labor. I say you yell it out. Haters à gauche. :-)

  3. Hector says:

    On a non-pregnancy and totally Blog-bombing note… I just attended my first Ballet class! There were 6 Females ( 2 ballroom girls, teens… New Girl Who looks experienced, mid-late 20’s… “Sturdy” girl in late 20’s early 30’s… Pregnant woman early 30’s with toddler and skills *Better when not huge*… And Older Woman, previously a professonal who started dancing again at 50 ) one Male (Myself, 21 Hector) and the teacher, Sue. I really enjoyed it and will be attending as regularly as possible. (Adult Begining Ballet is one day per week, Tuesday Evenings.) Thank you for your inspiring Blog, I may never have started Ballet had it not been for your incessant ramblings and encouraging statements. As you see, I do my fair share of rambling as well. May you have peace.

    Sincerely,
    Hector

    p.s. And a happy pregnancy, parrent hood, marrage, ballet classes, Ballerina classes, drive to work, night’s sleep e.c.t.

    • Thanks you Hector, glad you enjoyed your first ballet class. Very exciting! If you’d like, I invite you to click on the First Class Stories page in the header above and add your story.
      Wishing you all the best in your new adventure!

  4. loveablestef says:

    This post really made me giggle. Classic AB.

  5. Ballet is life – life is ballet – get it? Thanks – good night! xxx and happy preggie dreams…

  6. Carla Escoda says:

    One of the ancient ballet terms that came from fencing, and apparently has to do with angling the body (“shading” it) to make it harder for your opponent to run his sword through you.

  7. roriroars says:

    Late to the party here, but as a former L&D nurse loving all things preggy and birthy and also a ballet dancer, this post is Da Bomb. That and… I can’t help but think of the dad from My Big Fat Greek Wedding with your last sentence: “Give me a word, any word, and I’ll show you how the root of that word is Greek.”

Leave a Reply

