When life hands you pointe class

Called a friend yesterday, wished him a happy birthday, got off the phone and realized:
Dude, a year ago I was late to his birthday dinner because I had pointe class.
Dang. That was a year ago.
I mean that’s crazy, last year this time I was taking pointe, this year I’m five months pregnant.
Which is exactly halfway done.
Which was a Big Surprise, I mean, it’s common knowledge that it takes nine months to grow a baby, right? But no- a full-term pregnancy is clocked at forty weeks. Which is Ten Months! Wtf??!! Where did that extra month come from? How come nobody talks about it?! Is this some kind of conspiracy? Surprise: here’s an extra month for ya!
What gives?!
Anyway, my point is, when life offers you pointe class, Totally Take It.
Cause, like, you never know.
And here’s the half-way belly:
Bam!

20120523-072448.jpg

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff, ce n'est pas une mom blog, the Body and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to When life hands you pointe class

  1. The most beautiful belly ever! Would totally love to see it in easter egg costume (you know, the coloured swimsuit)

  2. Stacy says:

    Life is offering me a pointe class starting this summer! I’m an adult beginner as well and soo excited! Some other adults in the studio have tried and gave it up but they’ve all said you should at least try it!
    Congrats! In a few years will you be shuttling your child to ballet class?? There are a good number of parents in my studio that take class while their child is taking a class, too!

    • Yay, congratulations to you!!! I am excited for you! Ooh, and now you get to shop for pointes, wheeeeee!
      I’m really hoping to find a studio where the kid can take a class while I take a class, that sounds pretty ideal.

  3. LC says:

    ~9 calendar months…10 lunar months

  4. Janet says:

    You have a very nice round bump, AB. Just baby, nothing else Smirnoff!

    • In your face, Smirnoff!
      It’s funny about the weight gain: I’m almost starting to think regular old dieting is easier than maintaining this balance between gaining too much and gaining too little. Apparently up until about two weeks ago (including that goodbye class with Smirnoff) I was a little underweight, like not gaining at the expected amount per week, but the midwives figured I’d get there so they didn’t make a big deal of it, and sure enough, me and the baby had a growth spurt and are right where we should be. All I have to do now is try to keep the gain nice and steady.

  5. I am jealous of how amazing you look and I’m a (supposedly) fit 24-year-old who’s not pregnant. Adorable! (P.S. I’ll keep reading this blog whether it’s about ballet or babies or dog breeds for all I care).

Leave a Reply

