Let’s Go to the Moon…with Maria Tallchief

I have this great book:
Let’s Go to the Moon by Michael Chester, illustrations by Albert Micale, published 1965 “in the Dominion of Canada by Longmans Canada Limited, Toronto”
Did you know that Canada was a dominion?
Anyway,
Books that describe lunar-landings before they’d actually happened are pretty neat.
Here’s the cover:

20120317-170413.jpg
So, I don’t know what happened, maybe I just had too many mushrooms or maybe it’s just a lazy Saturday or maybe this is my homage to Kate Beaton, of Hark, A Vagrant, who does these amazing history cartoons and this series where she shows the cover of a vintage book and then completes the story as per the info in the cover image, and you should just follow that link right now and hit random a bunch of times and laugh and laugh,
Anyway, I thought Maria Tallchief should go to the moon.
That would be cool.

20120317-171125.jpg
And then I figured it would look like this:

20120317-171403.jpg
Bam!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books!, Drawings of great sillitude and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Let’s Go to the Moon…with Maria Tallchief

  1. purplepoint says:

    Hi,Ms. Adult Beginner! That pic is cute and funny! I’m 30 years old and will be starting ballet in 20 days! I’m excited! I love your blog! Keep it up! God bless! Oh, I follow you on twitter too! I’m @heartsballet. Later!

  2. AHahahaha!
    PS: I <3 Kate Beaton pretty hard.

  3. Dear Adult Beginner,

    Please make this costume and then model it. You would look fab. (You could add it to the chicken pages and novel ballet costumes could become your ‘thing’).

    You could sew those bendy glow stick things into the tutu. A trip to an interior lighting store could provide you with a basic white helmet to work with. If you wanted to stay anonymous you could make the visor tinted (or mirrored!). Hmmm, but being ballet I think the face really needs to be visible and I love the way your helmet design looks like a giant white 60’s bob framing the face in a very chic way. I think I really want to make one for myself if I’m honest.

    It could have two little tiny oxygen tanks in place of fairy wings!!! (a la ‘space willis’…)

  4. loveablestef says:

    Bam! right back at you. Love your artwork!

  5. Claire says:

    Thats funny… great artwork! I’m starting ballet in a few weeks i’ve never been so nervous!

  6. lalatina says:

    Hahaha! Love it!

  7. Jenna says:

    Love it!

    On a different note, I saw the picture of the book before I read the text above it, but I could tell it was done before the actual lunar landings. How? That astronaut looks like he’s treading about as heavily as a soldier lugging a heavy pack through a desert!

  8. EnthusiasticBeginner says:

    Hi, I don’t do Twitter so I don’t know where else to let you know about this, but the Guardian Newspaper is following a day in the life of the Royal Ballet in London today! It’s amazing, they followed the morning class and everything. Apparently there will be highlights later. See here: http://www.guardian.co.uk/stage/interactive/2012/mar/23/royal-ballet-live-stream and here: http://www.youtube.com/user/RoyalOperaHouse

Leave a Reply

