The unbearable lightness

Had a minute before class and watched a bunch of ballet clips on YouTube and then went to class and did this combination in center with a bunch of jumps and, like, working on pas faille with the swooping and all?
And did the combination and you know, like, wasn’t suspended in the air for long, magical moments of time but instead came back down to the ground at the regular speed,
And said to myself, Harumph, Self! The air is just not holding you up like it holds up the ballerinas!
And said to myself, Dude, Self, um, you really meant that just now didn’t you? Like, literally, didn’t you?
And then said to myself, Oh, whoops, yeah ok maybe. Fine, Self, I guess the air doesn’t really hold the ballerinas up either. They just make it look like it does. They are working hard to create an illusion and you are looking for loopholes in physics.
And then I said to myself, Yes. Shut up talking and help me look.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The unbearable lightness

  1. TRUE!! SO TRUE !!! Love it !

  2. lalatina says:

    Hahahaha! I love it! So true.

  3. Millie says:

    This reminds me a a T-Shirt I bought for my daughter. It has a stylized picture of a ballerina floating through the air with a quote that reads:
    “A good dancer knows the steps, a great dancer makes them look effortless.”

    I wish I know how to upload clipart so you could see. It’s soooo pretty!

  4. Yvonne says:

    Unbearable lightness is the title of a book I read at present :D
    I know what you mean. I feel like that even while doing grande battements^^

Leave a Reply

