Guess who finally got a library card?

20120305-103802.jpg
Me!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Guess who finally got a library card?

  1. Laura says:

    Ooh, ooh! Please to relive my adolescence by reading Gelsey Kirkland’s _Dancing on my Grave_. If you haven’t already, that is.

  2. lalatina says:

    Envy. Super envy!!!! in a good way.

  3. Heather says:

    Ooh, your library has a different cover of Apollo’s Angels to ours

    /library nerd

  4. Marie says:

    You’re lucky to have a library including dance books. We have like 30 libraries in our town but you can find there only a handful of ballet-related books…

  5. Ashley says:

    my library let me check out the e-book version of Apollo’s Angels….

    • I purchased and tried my darned-est to read the iBook of Apollos Angels, but the format drove me insane.
      Kept wanting to jump around in the book and flip pages and find pictures.
      Apparently the Adult Beginner is just not good at reading non-fiction from a non-book, so, this is, like, Take 2 at Apollo’s Angels por moi.
      We’ll see if it works.
      Fiction I can do though: just read Connie Willis’s Black Out, and All Clear on the iPad in like four days flat! Bam!

  6. Kaija24 says:

    Oooooo…tres cool! I’ve been reading my way through the dance/ballet section of my library as well :) Free books are awesome! I highly recommend “Winter Season” by Toni Bentley and “The Unmaking Of A Dancer” by Joan Brady.

  7. Nellie says:

    That reminds me, I still have Apollo’s Angels staring down at me on the shelf to read… it’s just so unwieldy I can’t carry it about to read on the train. Also reminds me that I need to update my address with our library, I only moved three years ago, oops!

    Libraries are the best places ever.

  8. Janet says:

    Yes! Is your local library still Dewey Decimal, or the more hoity toity Library of Congress system? Thank good most card catalogs are now electronic. I do not miss typing all of the cards, then getting to file them.
    I worked in libraries in High School and College, and was always amazed what I could find if I just “went shopping” in the stacks. I have no doubt that some of my HS classmates think that I am a librarian. I am not.
    I have not used my card lately, since it takes me too long to read some books. Also, there are some books I want to read that are not popular enough to be in my local library.
    I will now need to look to see if my library has any dance books.

  9. Nikki says:

    Smirnoff would highly approve of the borrowing and lending of books to all no matter what class you’re from.

    Personally I’m half way through Sono Osato’s biography and I must say I’m a little bored and haven’t picked it up since… I also have Choura waiting for me over the fireplace. I imagine the etoiles of the 90s will read like Anthony Boudain’s biography. Sex, drugs, and boozes.

  10. Allison says:

    Fav ballet book: Karen Kain’s autobiography ‘A Movement Never Lies’… its FANTASTIC. I’ve read it so many times that I’ve almost got it memorized!

  11. Pingback: Reasons to learn ballet!! « shrutz4ever

Leave a Reply

