Used Book Store FTW

Dude, Gentle Reader, check this out:
Received this email from Emily the other day, and I thought it was so cool I asked permission to share, and she said yes so here goes:

So you know how you find all those awesome dance books at used book stores? Well, you inspired me to do the same. So off I go to the nearest used book store and go through all the shelves until I find the tiny section on dance. I mean, it was downright sad how few books there were. But I plopped myself down on the floor and looked through them all. I had a good feeling that something awesome would be found.
When I first looked through them, I had my eye on this big book on Margot Fonteyn, one of my favorite-est ballerinas of all-time. I went through it and put it back on the shelf and continued on my little way through the others. But something made me always go back to that book, even when I forced myself to the fiction section, I was drawn to that book. Eventually, I decided (for like, the fourth time) to go back and look at it. And you won’t believe what I found. There, on the very first page was Margot’s autograph. I must’ve stood there for about three minutes just staring at it in disbelief. I mean, Margot FREAKING Fonteyn’s signature was in my hands! My hands! I felt invincible, like nothing could bring me down.
It’s safe to say that the book is my baby and I will treat it as such. That’s something I’m keeping with me forever. Like, even when I’m all rotten and gross, that book will be chillin right there with me. SO, I wanted to thank you, because if you hadn’t shared your stories, I would’ve never discovered my precious book. So thanks, man. Thanks.

Love (but not the creepy kind),
One of your readers

Is that the best or what??!!
Also, Emily sez the book cost about $7.
Whut????????

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Books!, You Asked for it and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Used Book Store FTW

  1. chrisgo says:

    Whoa, score!
    Looks like I should start checking the book selection a little closer next time I go to the book store.

  2. Hannah says:

    That. is. incredible.

  3. kaija24 says:

    Used bookstores can be the source of unexpected treasures for sure! AB, I picked up a copy of Dance Is A Contact Sport based on your book posts as well :)

  4. Leticia says:

    Im a dance teacher (primarily Ballet). My kids love it when I find a gem like a book with a signature or something. They pour over it for hours before and after class. Such a great way to learn too.

Leave a Reply

