My new bff: the Tennis Ball

Ok so I’ve been toting these tennis balls around in my dance bag for like evar, after reading somewhere that Real Ballerinas tote tennis balls around in their bags,
And every now and then after class I might pull one out and kinda half-assedly roll it around under-foot while thinking, ‘omg I’m such a ballerina right now’ and then throw it back in the bag.
Haven’t been to class this week, have been getting my pimp-stroll on instead.
Aka limping outrageously. Fabulaously! Gettin’ limpy wit it!
Anyway, Saturday morning I had a spare five minutes and had just read this comment on my previous post,
from Andre,

One thing that happens after an injury is that the surrounding muscles get tight perhaps because the body’s trying to protect itself. If it’s not too painful, try to get the muscles above and below the injured area massaged or somehow worked on (like with a foam roller or a hard ball). Tendons and ligaments don’t stretch, so when they hurt, that means something that is normally stretchy is pulling on them, and that usually means tight muscles.

So I went and got one of the ridiculous tennis balls and rolled it all around and was like, “whatever I’m not convinc-Woah!”
Dude, Gentle Reader, the place where the muscles of the lower leg attach, like at the outside of the just-below-knee area, was all like, “oh! Me me me! Roll here!”
It felt amazing, but even better: I got distracted, got up, and walked across the room like a normal person.
No limp, no pimp-swag.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the Body and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My new bff: the Tennis Ball

  1. Bernhard says:

    Yay for tennis balls!
    I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  2. lalatina says:

    Great! :D

  3. Sarah says:

    have to tell you that after battling a knee injury since i was 16 (omg! was that over 15 years ago?) that the best thing you can do for an injury is not limp. The more normal you walk the faster you get to feeling better. Not only does limping not let your muscles get worked but it also messes up your other leg and sometimes your back and neck (from being off balance). Unless something is broken or you just had surgery, no limping. good luck and keep massaging!

  4. Chwenny says:

    Gawd, I love my trusty tennis ball! Try it on your back and shoulders along a wall… Aw yeahhh…

  5. Blondie says:

    I must get a tennis ball now. This sounds rather awesome.

  6. Allie Duthie says:

    Very interesting! I have a vague memory of once reading in a magazine that rolling your feet along a tennis ball when you take your heels off at the end of the night will stop your feet aching quicker, same basic idea possibly? Good luck with the recovery!

  7. Andre says:

    Yay! I’m so glad that worked for you. When the tennis ball becomes too soft for you, try a lacrosse ball. You can find them at Sports Authority for less than $3.

  8. ojdanseur says:

    Another alternative is using a baseball! I personally find that tennis balls have too much ‘give’ and therefore don’t get rid of all of the tightness.

    But very glad you’ve found something to help you!

  9. loni526 says:

    Just discovered your blog and I absolutely love it! After this post I’m going to attempt to find some tennis balls…. :P

  10. Do you ever use a theraband? I purchased one and don’t really have a clue as to how to use it, other than the basic “back and forth” foot stretch.

  11. Babette says:

    I’m so happy to hear that other beginners are limping after class too! Thought something was wrong with my sexy pimp stroll out of the car into my apartment after class. Granted it has been getting better lately!

  12. Babette says:

    Fabs have been a life saver too! They aren’t great for performance, but are wonderful for class.

Leave a Reply

