It’s all good

Ok so there’s this word Sminoff uses in class. Only with the Russian girls. Because of course he speaks like five million languages so he can correct the Russian speakers in Russian and the Spanish speakers in Spanish, and the German speakers in German, and that one time a Canadian girl came to class he tried French but it turned out she wasn’t from Quebec.
So after class one evening while we’re getting all suiting-up in our winter layers I ask the Russian speaking girls, “hey, what’s that word he’s always saying? It’s like, parah-show? Per-shoh? Or something? He says it like all the time?”
And they’re like, “oh! Khorosho? It means Good! You say it kharah-shoh. Khaaaaaaa-rahhhhhh-shoh.”
And I’m like, “khaaarahhhhshoh?” and they’re like, “good!”
Which is really sweet because I thought this mystery word was gonna mean “pull up” or “your other left” but no, he’s not correcting, he’s encouraging.
So, couple classes later, sitting around after class, everybody getting their stuff together to hit the road, Russian girls chatting in Russian, I turn to the non-Russian-speaking girl beside me, and say, super smug and all puffed up with pride, “I know a word in Russian.”
And she grins and says, “yeah? Is it khorosho?”
And I’m like, “Ha! How did you know? Khorosho! Khorosho!”
And she’s like, “Khorosho!”
And Russian Girls join in, “Khorosho! Khorosho!”

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Word Nerd and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s all good

  1. Marie says:

    Haha, russian not written in their alphabet looks so funny :D

  2. Nellie Dean says:

    Hahahaha, love this post.

    I am adding that to my ‘useful Russian vocabulary’ (gleaned from the best part of ten years of living with Russianists) which currently amounts to being able to go into a shop, say hello, demand vodka, thank them and leave. I think throwing good in there will really make the conversation :)

  3. When I studied Russian my teacher said that all the time too!!!
    Хорошо, хорошо!!! =D

  4. rebekah says:

    i was being rehearsed by a Russian choreographer for La Bayadere once….and he only spoke Russian, so it was pretty tough…and pretty much the only thing that i understood was the word Bolshoi….i figured he was trying to tell us to dance more like the Bolshoi ballet,
    until my russian friends informed me that no….Bolshoi in russian means bigger…..woops!

Leave a Reply

