Five Gold Rings!

20111229-132109.jpg

Have learned to do all my pencil drawing in the second layer, leaving the first layer blank so I can go back and color it if I want. Which I didn’t here. Although I tried! Tried a black background, tried a blushy light pink, tried an ecru-tan-off-white. But liked white the best after all. So there.
Oh, and how hilarious is ballet sign language?!
My favorite is the one that is supposed to mean “dancing” but really looks like, “I have a tumble-weed on my head”.

PS voting is in effect! Top Dance Blogs 2011, whuuut?

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Drawings of great sillitude and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Five Gold Rings!

  1. Laura says:

    Humblebrag: I got to play the Queen in my studio’s mini-production of Swan Lake a couple years ago. It was so much fun but the whole role is pantomime, i.e., ballet sign language. And you have to do all the signs BIG or they won’t “read” way back there in the cheap seats. The head-tumbleweed was definitely in effect!

    • Pantomime! That’s the word I was looking for!
      Hee!
      Yeah man, Swan Lake Queen. That’s a whole lotta pantomime. That lady is always gesturing at people, like, Get A Job! Get Married! Dance, Monkey, Dance!
      Quite an arm work-out, I bet

  2. Jeff says:

    The mime, I loves it! And is she also saying “live long and prosper”? :)

Leave a Reply

