SAB Skirt tutorial

Ok, so my first thought back when Juliette of Ballet Scoop asked me to do this tutorial was:
Who you callin’ an S.O.B.?!
but she was all like Girl, please, stop being twelve years old and teach us how to make the cutest skirt evar.
So I did.

20111223-172058.jpg

Like what you see? Go here and learn how to make one of your very own

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in DIY, Guest Post yo! And interviews, yo!, OMG outfits you guys!, You Asked for it and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to SAB Skirt tutorial

  1. *sigh* I remember when my posterior fit a Wolf size 10. Oh those halcyon days of yore…

  2. Thank you again for a fabulously fun, beautifully photographed and immensely useful post!! It was an honor to have you contribute! :)

  3. Lisa says:

    Love that you use the right math to do the waist circumference to waist radius! One of my first clothing sewing projects was a circle skirt I made without a pattern. I started by searching instructions and tutorials online, and so many people had wierd ways of doing it, or horror stories of skirts that came out wrong because they could’t figure it out. It’s not that hard if you remember geometry class.

  4. Adrienne says:

    Wow, I am so making one! Was just thinking of getting a chiffon skirt (am also an adult beginner, till now sporting shorts), but this is so much cooler! SAB skirt = School of Adult Beginner skirt :) Thanks for this great post! I have been reading and loving your blog in secret for some time now: the Smirnoff stories, the drawings and all the rest. It would be great to have DIY ideas from you in the future as well… I guess ballet is also awakening the seamstress in me (kinda)… Have to go now, ballet class awaits!

  5. fromVIEtoCPH says:

    oh this is awesome! Going to convert it to centimeters and try my luck :) there should be some super stretchy fabric rests lying around somewhere in my mom’s house.. I’ll let you know how it turned out!

  6. kitteacat says:

    I LOVE THIS SKIRT!! I made one a couple weeks ago, before I took my FIRST EVER ballet class. Wore new skirt to class, and felt wonderful!! Unfortunately, fabric stores around me are pretty limited and I can’t find a lot of 4-way stretch material . . . but can’t wait to make another! Thanks for the great post!

    • Yay! It’s such a fun little skirt, I’m glad to hear you’re having fun with it!
      If you get frustrated with your local selection try fabric shopping online.
      Spandex House is a good place to start.

  7. ms.spectator says:

    I made one! I coudnt wait to stick a waistband on so I just popped it on for class today. My legs feel 2 miles long! And my hips, whooo mama! It’s a knockout!

  8. Pingback: Dancing and Sewing | Entrechat Quatre

Leave a Reply

