Double Snaps

So we’re doing this thing as part of a center combination.
It’s like you beat your pointed toe in passé, if that makes any sense?
Didn’t catch the name of the thing, boloné? balloté? baloney? but Smirnoff describes it as, “The only thing Nureyev was really good at.”
Gentle Reader, you may be thinking, “Oh no he din’t.” but oh yes he did.
So anyway, he asks me to demonstrate the combo, and it’s cute how he thinks I have any clue, and how he thinks I have this alleged clue because there’s an assemblé in the combo and he’s decided I’m the expert of assemblés, ergo I’m the expert of this combo? Is that like a=b, b=c, so a=c? Or something?
So I do the thing and then chassé, assemblé, and something else something else blah blah, and it’s a mess, and I say something feeble like, ‘I’m still figuring this one out.’ and Lé Assistant says, “Well, she’s tall, Smirnoff. It takes a long time to get from her head to her feet.”
Yes! That is Correct!
Plus oh snap!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Technique and Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Double Snaps

  1. That assistant is the jerkiest of jerks, for realz yo!

  2. Janet says:

    OK, now Smirnoff and Le Assistant are both rude. They need to spend their day off learning manners.

  3. I’m glad you’re taking it with a sense of humor, haha… How tall are you? I might have to use that line as an excuse in the future myself. ;)

  4. Hannah says:

    I had to think about this for a minute but it’s REALLY funny. : ) I used to have a Russian teacher in college and she would always say funny (but kinda mean if you take it personally) things. Once she told my sister, who was her former student, “I don’t remember you. Were you one of the smart ones? I might have remembered you if you had been a smart one.”

Leave a Reply

