An evening with the Ballet Russe

Omg, Gentle Reader, did you know there is a cocktail that is actually called a Ballet Russe?
I did not know this!
Until last night!
When Mr. Adult Beginner handed me this gorgeous deep dark colored thing and said, “This is actually called a Ballet Russe.”
It was good, too, bitches. There is no photo because I drank that mofo up, whuuuuut!
Here’s how:
2parts vodka– get potato vodka. Because its The Right Thing To Do. We use that Trader Joes brand that is like “Monopoloya” or some such, with the blue label that looks all Worker&Parasite.
1/2part creme de cassis– get something nice! Not cheap! Cheap equals sweet. Sweet equals death. This is a black currant liqueur, btw.
lime– recipe calls for “four dashes”. Don’t know about you, but the Adult Beginner refuses to measure things in dashes. Because that is just plain ridiculous. Plus lime is good. Keeps the rickets away, right Sailors? Squeeze, like, half a lime in there.
Drink it over ice.
Feel glamorous, ’cause ya are, baby!!!!!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An evening with the Ballet Russe

  1. roriroars says:

    I am so off to buy some lime so I can make this! Brilliant!

  2. Haha, I always wonder how these things get named… This might actually be the only drink I would consider trying. In many years, of course. ;)

    • That’s right Girl, take your time.
      Back when I was underage and all up in the club, me and my friends all wearing the plastic No Drinky bracelets the bouncer put on us at the door, we all had a Great Scorn for the clumsy, uncoordinated people who were there to drink. As drinking clearly got in the way of dancing.

  3. lalatina says:

    Oooh sounds good! I’m throwing an after-exam party this weekend with my ballet-friends! Drinks are always welcome when exams are done but this is double good, it has vodka in it and it is balletish. Will try for sure :)

  4. Kaija says:

    Oooooh, that sounds fantastic. Thanks for the recipe…Perhaps I will have to make this my holiday drink this year :)

Leave a Reply

