Ankle in Progress

Ok so last week, late-ish one evening, right? I’m walking across the front yard, bottle of wine in hand, headed over to a friends house for dessert…
And I step right in that hole in the front yard where the FOR SALE sign used to be like eight months ago before we bought the place.
Step right in that hole with my right foot, and the ankle rolls…
And I know what you’re thinking, Gentle Reader. You’re thinking, “Why is that hole even still there?!”
Right? Well relax ok? We’ll get there! Do some xeriscaping or something! Maybe a couple nice boulders? But for now, well, we’re still working on the inside of the house, ok? For now, we’re that crazy house with the dead lawn. We’re that couple that never waters.
Ok?
Whatever!
Anyway,
The ankle rolls…to the point of pain…and I’m totally thinking, “Is this the end of Zombie Shakespeare?” and my ballet-life flashes before my eyes…and then- the ankle rights itself.
You know, stabilizes.
Like an ankle should.
So,
I step out of the hole, and I’m like, “Woah! Kinda turned my ankle there!” and Mr. Adult Beginner is like, “Woah! You ok?” and I’m like, “Woah! I don’t know yet!”
So we get in the car, and go to our friends’ place, join them just in time for Shoo-fly pie, which is A-Mazing, google a recipe right now and make some immediately, and I keep my right leg folded up under the table, and somehow, I don’t even remember, conversations shifts towards the host declaring that one of the best meals he’s ever eaten in his entire life was a glass of wine and a slice of cold pizza, in the shower, for breakfast.
In The Shower.
Gentle Reader, have you ever?!
And it turns out that of the eight of us at the table, two of us have eaten while showering.
And of the remaining six, three of us are thinking, “that is completely inappropriate shower-time behavior!” while the other three of us are thinking, “Brilliant! All this time I’ve wasted! Showering with no pizza! What am I doing with my life??? If I leave right now I could pick up a pizza on the way home…”
So the next morning, ankle ok, no bruising. I take this as a sign of Major Progress.
It’s, like, almost back to being a real ankle again.

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the Body and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Ankle in Progress

  1. Polly says:

    I was going to leave a real comment but all I can think about now is eating shoofly pie in the shower.

  2. thepimwithacapitalt says:

    I was going to say something sensible along the lines of ‘hurrah no bruising hurrah ankle hurrah’ only then I got sidetracked by ‘EATING IN THE SHOWER? WHAT IS THIS MADNESS? (capslock thoughts fo’ realz)’. I mean surely your food just gets soggy if you do that, right? The logistics are baffling me… although I really want to try eating pizza in the shower now, just for the sake of scientific inquiry you understand…

    • Yes! This was discussed heatedly around the table, some insisting you’d have a soggy mess, the two Experienced Ones pointing out that you’re eating with your back to the shower so water hits your shoulders, as opossed to your head. There is definitely room for more empirical data to be collected up in here.

  3. lalatina says:

    Pizza and wine in the shower… That’s interesting.
    Great to read your ankle is making progress!

  4. roriroars says:

    Well, I won’t deny drinking wine in the bath, but pizza in the shower? Sounds like a soggy mess. Oh, and watch out for those holes in the ground, they’ll get you every time. One time after I taught class I was walking out with a couple student-friends, one was walking towards her car and suddenly disappeared… she had stepped in a pothole and fallen (though quite gracefully). We decided that she had just performed a “pothole bourrée” (as opposed to a pas de bourrée).

  5. Kaija says:

    I have sipped coffee in the shower in the early morning hours and I have enjoyed a cold beer in the shower after a hockey game…good times! However, I draw the line at eating the shower…sounds like too much possibility of sogginess, though I LOVE cold pizza for breakfast :)

    I’m relieved to hear that the ankle was up to the challenge of the random yard hole…whee!

  6. chrisgo says:

    I don’t know if you wrote anything beyond the Zombie Shakespeare quote, I was laughing too hard to keep reading. Tree House of Horrors rule!!!

  7. Blondie says:

    The main issue here is not the eating of the pizza in the shower, but of eating COLD pizza! Some people swear by it. I, however, consider it to be a travesty!

  8. Nina says:

    Hahahahaha! I’ve eaten in the shower too, many times! But never pizza!!! I have even read in the shower before….

    I am so glad your ankle is getting better :)

  9. Pingback: Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

