Other People’s Ballet Stories

My friend Lil’ J told me this really great Ballet Story:
She was just a little kid, and she was admitted into the Philadelphia School of Ballet, or some place Philly, she doesnt remember what the name was exactly, point is it was very fancypants and her mom was all excited. But Lil’ J pestered the piano player so much about why he wasn’t playing any Madonna that they asked her to leave and not come back.
Hahahahahahaaa!!!
Ok and then there’s my friend A-Train, who was telling me the other day how her ballet teacher pulled her mom aside after class one day and said, “Look, your daughter is very talented and I really think she can go somewhere with this, but you’re going to have to get really strict with her diet.” And I was like, “huh?” (A-Train is very lean). And she explained the teacher could sense the broad Germanic farm-girl hips just waiting to fill in. I was like, “dang, that’s cold. That’s the last thing you wanna hear as a self-conscious teen-ager.” A-Train said, “oh, no- I was six years old.”
Bwahahhahahhaa!
And then there’s my friend E-money, who took ballet for a year when she was maybe like seven, and her ma asked if she’d like to continue, and E-money was like, “Nope.” And her ma was like, “why not?” And E-money was like, “I’m tired of getting bossed around for an hour every week.”
Hahahhahahahahaaa!

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Other People’s Ballet Stories

  1. Linda says:

    1997 (or 1998?):
    My friend: I can’t come to this rehearsal since I have aerobics. Teacher: Ballet is way more important than some aerobics!!!

  2. mathematicalstateofmind says:

    Really funny, especially the one about A-Trian, that’s a classic!

  3. Janet says:

    Love it. Tossed out because she bugged the pianist to play Madonna!

  4. Acacia says:

    My mom put me in ballet classes because I kept falling and bumping my head into things. Explains a lot no?

  5. Sarah says:

    I begged my mother to take me out of ballet class when I was 4 so that I could play t-ball with the boys. I finally returned to the barre 26 years later, wishing my mother hadn’t listed to me!

  6. Scattered says:

    I quit ballet when I was 6 or 7 because I finally figured out that I was going to be at least 12 before I would be allowed to have pointe shoes, which was the whole reason I was doing ballet in the first place, and that seemed to me to be just way too long to wait. After all, when you’re 6, 6 more years is a WHOLE LIFETIME. My poor mother, who never wanted to be a pushy crazy mom, didn’t even ask me why I wanted to quit, she just said ok.

    Then when I got to high school I realized, “Wow, that was really dumb, cuz I could totally be en pointe by now,” but by then I thought it was too late to start, because no one has beginner classes for people my age, right?

    Enter the door girl at my boyfriend’s job, who told me all about her adult beginning ballet class, which I signed up for immediately. I started taking classes last September, and my teacher is starting a pointe class for us this summer, right after I turn 26. I’m so excited I can’t sleep at night because I’m on YouTube watching people do pointe exercises.

    Pointe shoes were a dream for me my whole life, one that I thought I could never obtain. I found your blog two days ago and I’ve been reading it from the beginning, and I know exactly how you felt when you first heard that you might be able to do pointe, excited and a little unbelieving. I love hearing all of your stories, and I look forward to catching up with the present and all the stories that are yet to come. Yay for us!

Leave a Reply

