Treat pointe like A Class

The Adult Beginner was invited to a dinner party.
I know, weird, right? Keep trying to remind people that I’m a crotchety old hermit but they just keep being like, “What-evs, see you tonight!”
So, this dinner was to start at Exactly The Time Pointe Class Ends.
Oh. Noes.
What to do.
Can’t skip dinner ’cause, like, I like these people. And food.
Can’t show up late, because it’s, like, a formal dinner. Crystal. Multiple forks. Assigned seating. Can’t exactly slide into that kind of party unnoticed.
Can’t skip pointe because I love pointe…
But I guess I could skip just this time…
‘Cause the dinner is for my friend’s birthday, and that only happens once a year…
And he is really great…
And I don’t want to disappoint…
Realized I stupid had to stupid go to stupid dinner and miss stupid pointe because I really stupid like my stupid friend and everything stupid stupid stupid-
Until Mr. Adult Beginner said, “So we’ll head over when you get back from class?”
and I was all no, I’m not going to pointe,
and he was like, “what?”
and I was like, there’s not enough time.
and he was like, “Well have you talked to the host? There’s probably a cocktail before the sit-down. Did you ask? Why don’t you talk to him about it? Besides, if you don’t go to pointe you’re not treating it like a class, you’re just treating it like something you do. You need to treat pointe like A Class. Ask.”
So fine, I did. Asked if Mr. Adult Beginner and I could be about half an hour late.
And the host was like, “that’s no problem! No problem at all! Of course you may!”
Relayed that to Mr. Adult Beginner and he was like, “See! Talking Resolves Conflicts!”
and I was like, “yeah well Your Face resolves conflicts!”
Because the Adult Beginner is all about maturity.
And then we got to the party, walked in the door, and Mr. Adult Beginner sez to the group at large, “I apologize for our lateness! I have my pointe class on Friday nights, don’t you know.”

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in Ballerina Class, and other pointe-y stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Treat pointe like A Class

  1. Janet says:

    So, what did the hosts and other guests say?

  2. Ah! I can’t believe you even thought about missing pointe…So glad you did a compromise! “Sorry, I have Ballet” is probably one of the things I say to people the most often.

  3. Jeff says:

    Definitely! Though this was later to be mooted, last month I was all ready to miss (or be late to) a dear friend’s birthday party because of class (which, in my additional defense, I had already paid for). Priorities! :)

  4. Pingback: When life hands you pointe class | Adult Beginner

Leave a Reply

