Adult Beginner: now slightly more adult

Oh hey, guess what happened the other day?
I had a birthday!
It was one of those weird birthdays where you’re like, “wait…am I turning thirty-three? Or was I already thirty-three and now I’m turning thirty-four? Pretty sure it’s not thirty-five, surely would remember increments of five…Gah! How the hell old am I??!”
And my mom called, and later my dad, and both of them, completely unprompted, said, “wow, I can’t believe you’re thirty-four!”
And then I was like, “yup, well, start believing it.” And in my head, ‘Aha! Definitely 34!’
And guess what I got for my birthday?
A long neck!
Have always wanted one of those.
No really, just a few days before turning what turned out to be 34, Smirnoff said, very casually after class, that my neck and chin are looking very nice now. But now we have to work on un-stiffening my shoulders. Been working so hard on keeping the shoulders down that they are afraid to move at all.
Realized that he hasn’t actually called out to me to raise my chin in a while, at least not in real life, there’s just that invisible parrot that flies around in my head yelling, “Brrrock! Chin up! Brrrrock! Chin up!” leaving me with an inexplicable post-barre craving for crackers…
Anyway, a birthday is a good time for gettin’ all reflect-y with it, especially because it falls pretty close to the year-and-a-half mark of my ballet adventure,
So, let’s check in with Past Adult Beginner
Here I was at six months of ballet.
Haha! Meat Rectangles.
And birthday last year.
This is neat to check in with because, see, I was in the middle of the barre. Because I had to be. Needed someone to follow each direction. And now I can stand wherever, even lead the barre.
Also, if someone had told me when I turned 33 that I’d be en pointe by 34, I would wonder why they were being so cruel, getting my hopes all twisted up like that.
Yay!
Oh and look, here’s one year of ballet class. Which reminds me! Something amazing has happened! That muscle that runs along the outer side of the thigh? That dancer-y looking one? The turn-out-y in the air battement-y one? It has arrived, you guys! And I like the look of it. I like my thighs, you guys!!!! Yay!!!!
And let’s check in with those new year’s resolutions.
Hmm. Doing pretty ok on those! Chainé-nés not perfect but definitely better, getting a whole new batch of corrections on them nowadays. Progress! And, I can see now that everyone gets corrections on the damned things. Even Best Girl. This seems to be one of those things that can always be improved.
You know, just like everything else in ballet.
Holy-moly, what’s this year gonna bring?

About adultbeginner

Had my first ballet class Ever at the advanced age of thirty-two. Yikes.
This entry was posted in the stuff drawer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Adult Beginner: now slightly more adult

  1. mladen says:

    then a belated happy birthday. mine is tomorrow, the big three zero. hopefully, i’ll still be dancing by 34. and your insightful posts will hopefully still be there to help. cheers

  2. Jeff says:

    Yay for progress! Happy birthday, and welcome to the club! (I turned 34 last month.) :)

  3. Happy Birthday! Im sure you will make many more improvements over the next year :) It is always so great to look back and see how much has improved over the year. I have developed so much more muscle tone in my legs too; no more noodle-leg!

  4. Johanna says:

    Happy Birthday!
    I actually have no idea of how old I am. I think i turned 29 this April. Which is odd since my blog is about a woman in her late thirties. Maybe one is fiction, and the other fantasy?
    Anyway, I wish you many more wonderful years in dance; elevation, exhilaration, extension, ballon, batterie, bouurrés, developpés, cabrioles, pointe shoes and bliss.. :)

  5. Margaret says:

    Happy belated birthday! How cool to look back and see how far you’ve come!

  6. One Giant Jeté says:

    Happy birthday! I love your blog. I am starting an Adult Beginner class next Thursday. I plan on starting a blog of my own!

  7. Janet says:

    Happy belated Birthday! Love your blog. I have learned a lot about ballet. Can you reccomend a ballet dictionary, that has photos of the steps, positions etc. If there is an online one with video that would be good, too. My French vocabulary is non-existent.

    • Janet says:

      Oh, and I remember trying to figure out how old I was when I was in my twenties. Now I know how much closer to 100 I am. Thanks, Dad for reminding me on a regular basis. Hope you had a good Birthday!

  8. lalatina says:

    A little late, but anyways happy birthday! :)

  9. Kaija says:

    Happy birthday and congratulations upon the anniversary of your nativity AND surviving/thriving in another year of ballet :) I enjoyed reading your reflections in the links; it’s so helpful to be able to look back and see that you’ve come a long way, baby! I’ve taken up keeping a dance journal for that same reason…just a few jots and observations about what went well, what I still need to work on, things I need to ask about, things that feel good/hurt, whatever hits me as indicative of where I am right now.

    I hope you had a wonderful day of celebration and some wicked indulgence :)

Leave a Reply

